Claude LeRoy signs a contract to coach DR Congo again

By Patrice CiteraBBC Sport, Kinshasa
Claude LeRoy
Claude LeRoy cut short his holiday in Greece to take the job as coach of DR Congo for a second stint

Claude LeRoy has signed a three-year contract to coach the DR Congo for a second time.

He is aiming to be in the dugout for Saturday's 2012 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in Senegal although only to help Santos Mutubile, who will be in overall charge.

The Frenchman cut short his holiday in Greece in order to fly to Kinshasa to finalise the deal.

He replaces his compatriot Robert Nouzaret who quit on Wednesday.

"Claude LeRoy will be with the national side in Senegal along with assistant coaches Otis Ngoma and Santos Mutubile, who will be leading the squad there," Omari Selemani, President of DR Congo Football Federation, said.

Selemani also explained the departure of Nouzaret.

"We realised that his focus was more on players based in Europe rather than those who play at home," he said.

"This despite the fact we told him that we only like to use Europe-based players who are playing regularly for their clubs and who are in the under-20 and under-23 teams.

"We also agreed with Nouzaret that he should help train and develop his assistants but we noticed that he wasn't doing that, that's why we felt ready to terminate his contract by mutual consent."

LeRoy coached DR Congo to the 2006 Nations Cup but then decided against renewing his contact in April that year.

Meanwhile Ngoma has named a 20-man squad for the game against Senegal.

The squad includes nine players from TP Mazembe and just three who play in Europe.

DR Congo are currently second in Group E with seven points - trailing Senegal who top the group with 10 points while Cameroon are third on five points.

Mauritius are bottom of the group without a single point so far and just two rounds of qualifying remaining.

DR Congo squad:

Goalkeepers: Robert Kidiaba (TP Mazembe), Matampi Mvumi (DC Motema Pembe)

Defenders: Eric Nkulukuta (TP Mazembe), Issama Mpeko (AS Vita Club), Jean Kasusula (TP Mazembe), Landry Mulemo (Kortrijk, Belgium), Pamphile Mihayo (TP Mazembe), Joel Kimuaki (TP Mazembe), Didi Kitumbu (FC St Eloi Lupopo), Tsholola Tshinyama (Lokeren, Belgium)

Midfielders: Ebunga Simbi (AS Vita Club), Disosa Masudi (TC Elima), Bedi Benza (TP Mazembe), Nyemba Walbi (AS Vita Club), Ilongo Saddam (DC Motema Pembe), Deo Kanda (TP Mazembe)

Strikers: Patou Kabangu (TP Mazembe), Tresor Mputu Mabi (TP Mazembe), Daniel Bakongolia (TS Malekesa), Yves Diba Ilunga (Najran FC, Saudi Arabia)