Euro 2012 round-up: Germany first to qualify for Championships

Miroslav Klose of Germany celebrates his team's first goal during
Klose was among the scorers as Germany qualified for Euro 2012

Germany became the first nation to qualify for the Euro 2012 finals with a fine 6-2 victory over Austria sealing their place in Poland and Ukraine.

Miroslav Klose, Mesut Ozil and Lukas Podolski were among the scorers earning them an unassailable lead in Group A.

Greece sealed a vital win over Israel at the top of Group F while leaders Italy (Group C), France (Group D) and Portugal (Group H) all won.

Group E leaders the Netherlands hammered San Marino 11-0 in Eindhoven.

Arsenal's Robin van Persie got four of the goals with Liverpool's Dirk Kuyt, John Heitinga, Wesley Sneijder (2), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (2) and Georginio Wijnaldum the other scorers for the Dutch.

Second-placed Sweden were defeated 2-1 by Hungary in that group with Gergely Rudolf's last-minute winner moving the Hungarians level on points with their opposition.

Germany's result leaves Belgium and Turkey fighting it out for second place in Group A. Turkey's 2-1 victory over Kazakhstan saw them replace Belgium in second as the Belgians drew 1-1 with Azerbaijan.

Italy look comfortable at the top of Group C, although the only beat the Faroe Islands 1-0, Antonio Cassano getting the goal.

Russia's 1-0 win over Macedonia saw them move to the top of Group B outright with the Republic of Ireland paying the price for their 0-0 draw with Slovakia.

Goals from Yann M'Vila and Karim Benzema saw France earn a vital 2-1 victory against Albania with Bosnia-Hercegovina beating Belarus 2-0 to move into second place in Group D.

Sotiris Ninis's second-half goal saw Group F leaders Greece secure a 1-0 victory over third-placed Israel while second-placed Croatia beat Malta 3-1.

Cristiano Ronaldo was among the scorers as Portugal continued to be the side to catch at the top of Group H, although Norway, who have the same number of points, kept up the chase with a 1-0 victory over Iceland. Mohammed Abdellaoue grabbed their late winner.

Top Stories