Bafana captain Pienaar could miss Nations Cup qualifier

South Africa's Katlego Mphela scores against Egypt in a Nations Cup qualifier in 2011
South Africa striker Katlego Mphela is back in the Bafana Bafana squad but a number of key players are missing, possibly including Steven Pienaar

South Africa face serious injury problems in the build-up to their final Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Sierra Leone next week.

Bafana Bafana coach Pitso Mosimane has named his squad on Tuesday - with midfielders Teko Modise and Kagisho Dikgacoi amongst those missing.

Captain Steven Pienaar is also absent, but has not yet been ruled out.

The other players missing from the squad are Tlou Segolela, Tsepo Masilela and Davide Somma.

Striker Katelgo Mphela has recovered from injury and is in the squad.

Reneilwe Letsholonyane of Kaizer Chiefs also returns to the line-up.

If Pienaar does miss the game, then Siphiwe Tshabalala will captain the side.

South Africa are second in their qualifying group behind surprise leaders Niger, who travel to Egypt in their final game.

Bafana Bafana need to win their match and hope that Egypt beat Niger, although the Pharaohs will be fielding a squad made up mostly of U23 players as part of preparations for the African Olympic qualifying tournament later this year.

"We need to play attacking football like was always do at home," South Africa coach Pitso Mosimane said.

"If we do what we have been doing in the last year we should get maximum points, even though we still depend on others to come through for us."

Only the group winners will automatically qualify for the finals in Equatorial Guinea and Gabon next year.

South Africa play Sierra Leone in Nelspruit on Saturday 8 October, with Egypt taking on Niger in Cairo at the same time.

South Africa squad v Sierra Leone:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Happy Jele, Siyabonga Sangweni (both Orlando Pirates), Morgan Gould (Supersport Utd), Eric Mathoho (Bloemfontein Celtic), Siboniso Gaxa (Lierse, Belgium), Bongani Khumalo (Tottenham, England), Anele Ngcongca (Genk, Belgium), Punch Masenamela (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Midfielders: Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa (both Orlando Pirates), Hlompho Kekana, Lebohang Mokoena (both Mamelodi Sundowns), Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siphiwe Tshabalala (both Kaizer Chiefs), Daylon Claasen (Lierse, Belgium), Thanduyise Khuboni (Golden Arrows)

Strikers: Lehlohonolo Majoro, Bernard Parker (both Kaizer Chiefs), Bradley Grobler, (Goztepe, Turkey), Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thulani Serero (Ajax, Holland)