Fifa charges 10 more Caribbean officials

Fifa's headquarters
The bans relate to a meeting in Port of Spain in May

Fifa's ethics committee has opened proceedings against 10 more Caribbean football officials, relating to the cash-for-votes scandal.

Four members of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) were banned on 14 October.

The officials will have their cases heard in mid-November, world football's governing body said in a statement.

They have been charged with breaching rules on ethics in the wake of the corruption scandal that saw Mohamed bin Hammam banned for life.

In July, the ethics committee ruled that Bin Hammam had made or offered cash gifts of $40,000 (£25,000) to each of the 25 CFU chiefs at a special meeting in Trinidad on 10-11 May.

In June, Jack Warner quit as Fifa vice-president and head of the CFU after he was charged with bribery. He claimed there was a Fifa conspiracy against Caribbean football.

The CFU presidential election will be held in Jamaica next month and will see Jamaican Ralph Anthony James going up against Harold Taylor of Trinidad & Tobago.

The 10 officials named by Fifa today were: Raymond Guishard (Anguilla), Damien Hughes (Anguilla), Everton Gonsalves (Antigua and Barbuda), Derrick Gordon (Antigua and Barbuda), Lionel Haven (Bahamas, CFU), Patrick John (Dominica), Philippe White (Dominica), Vincent Cassell (Montserrat), Tandica Hughes (Montserrat), Oliver Camps (Trinidad and Tobago).

Top Stories