Chelsea to host Liverpool in Carling Cup

Liverpool striker Luis Suarez
Luis Suarez scored twice in Liverpool's Carling Cup win over Stoke

Liverpool will travel to Chelsea in one of two all-Premier League ties in the quarter-finals of the Carling Cup.

In the other, Arsenal, who came from behind to beat Bolton in the previous round, will welcome Manchester City.

Championship side Crystal Palace are rewarded for their progress with a trip to Manchester United while Cardiff, also of the second tier, will play host to Blackburn Rovers.

The ties will played in the week commencing 28 November.

Liverpool have won the trophy a record seven times, their last success coming in 2003 when they beat Manchester United in the final.

But manager Kenny Dalglish is looking for his first success in the competition after his Liverpool side were beaten 2-1 by Arsenal in the final in 1987.

The Reds last met Chelsea in the competition in 2007 when goals from Frank Lampard and Andrei Shevchenko gave the Blues a 2-0 win at Stamford Bridge.

Arsenal are looking to go one better than they did last season, when they were beaten 2-1 in the final by Birmingham City.

Carling Cup quarter-final draw:
Arsenal v Manchester City
Cardiff City v Blackburn Rovers
Chelsea v Liverpool
Manchester United v Crystal Palace

Top Stories