Veteran keeper left out of Ghana's Nations Cup squad

Richard Kingson in action for Blackpool
Veteran Richard Kingson has been without a club since the end of last season

Veteran goalkeeper Richard Kingson has been left out of Ghana's squad for the Africa Cup of Nations next month.

The move confirms that youngster Adam Kwarasey is the Black Stars' first-choice keeper.

Another notable inclusion is Jordan Ayew, who will become the third son of Ghana great Abedi Pele to play at a Nations Cup.

And the top scorer in the Ghana Premier League, Emmanuel Baffour, has also been included by coach Goran Stevanovic.

Kingson was first-choice stopper for Ghana throughout the 2010 Nations Cup and World Cup but has been without a club since being released by Blackpool following their relegation from the English Premier League in May.

Kwarasey opted to play for Ghana having represented Norway at youth level and has recently replaced Kingson as number one.

Also making the trip to Equatorial Guinea and Gabon 2012 is midfielder Charles Takyi, who only recently got clearance to switch allegiance from Germany to Ghana.

Ghana are the joint favourites to win the tournament, which kicks off on 21 January.

They are in Group D of the competition along with Botswana, Mali and Guinea and will be based in Franceville in the south-east of Gabon.

Also missing from the line-up is striker Dominic Adiyiah, who was part of Ghana's squad at the 2010 World Cup but who has since moved to a Turkish second division club, Karsiyaka, and fallen off the radar.

Striker Baffour is one of the locally-based players to make the line-up, having impressed with a scoring streak of 11 goals in 11 games for his Ghanaian club New Edubiase.

Bristol City winger Albert Adomah, who has won two caps, has also missed out on making the squad, as has long-term injury absentee Michael Essien.

Stevanovic has named a 25-man squad, which will have to be whittled down to 23 before the tournament starts.


Adam Kwarasey (Stromsgodset, Norway), Daniel Adjei (Liberty Professionals, Ghana), Ernest Sowah (Berekum Chelsea, Ghana)


Samuel Inkoom (Dnipro, Ukraine), John Paintsil (Leicester City, England), Daniel Opare (Standard Liege, Belgium), Masawudu Alhassan (Genoa, Italy), Lee Addy (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia), John Boye (Rennes, France), John Mensah (Lyon, France), Jonathan Mensah (Evian, France), Isaac Vorsah (Hoffenheim, Germany)


Charles Takyi (St Pauli, Germany), Emmanuel Agyemang Badu (Udinese ,Italy), Derek Boateng (Dnipro, Ukraine), Anthony Annan (Vitesse Arnhem, Netherlands), Mohammed Abu (Stromsgodset, Norway), Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese, Italy), Sulley Muntari (Inter Milan, Italy), Andre Ayew (Marseille, France)


Emmanuel Baffour (New Edubiase, Ghana), Prince Tagoe (Bursaspor, Turkey), Derek Asamoah (Pohang Steelers, South Korea), Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, UAE), Jordan Ayew (Marseille, France).