Referees Howard Webb & Craig Thomson earn Euro 2012 roles

Howard Webb (left) and Craig Thomson
Webb (left) and Thomson have 14 years Fifa experience between them

Englishman Howard Webb and Scotland's Craig Thomson have been selected by Uefa to officiate in Euro 2012.

Webb attracted criticism in the 2010 World Cup final when he booked 13 men and sent off Johnny Heitinga of the Netherlands in their defeat by Spain.

The 40-year-old Yorkshireman became a Fifa official in 2005, was the English referee at Euro 2008, and took charge of the 2010 Champions League final.

Paisley-born Thomson, 39, has been a Fifa referee since 2003.

Thomson was at the centre of controversy on Saturday, when he took control of Aberdeen's 1-0 win over Hibernian.

He has been criticised by Ivan Spoule after awarding the winning penalty for the Hibs winger's challenge on Peter Pawlett.

The Aberdeen midfielder has since been charged with simulation by the Scottish Football Association's compliance officer and has been offered a two-match suspension.

Aberdeen have yet to say whether they accept that ban but have already appealed against Thomson's decision to later show Pawlett a red card for a challenge on Lewis Stevenson.

Full list of referees for Euro 2012:

Cuneyt Cakır (Turkey), Jonas Eriksson (Sweden), Viktor Kassai (Hungary), Bjorn Kuipers (Netherlands), Stephane Lannoy (France), Pedro Proenca (Portugal), Nicola Rizzoli (Italy), Damir Skomina (Slovenia), Wolfgang Stark (Germany), Craig Thomson (Scotland), Carlos Velasco Carballo (Spain) Howard Webb (England).

The following four will act solely as fourth officials during the tournament:

Marcin Borski (Poland), Tom Harald Hagen (Norway), Pavel Kralovec (Czech Republic), Viktor Shvetsov (Ukraine).

Top Stories