Burkina Faso's Herve Zengue is left out of CAN squad

Mali's Cedric Kante (left) in action with Burkina Faso's Herve Zengue
Zengue (on the right) has played in friendly matches and in qualifying, but is not in the Nations Cup squad for Burkina Faso

Controversial Burkina Faso defender Herve Zengue has been left out the Stallions' squad for the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations.

Zengue played in two qualifying matches against Namibia, who claim he is not eligible to represent the country.

They are taking the case to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in a bid to replace the Burkinabe in Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.

The case is set to be heard next month, before the start of the finals.

Burkina coach Paolo Duarte has named an initial 25-man squad for the tournament, despite the doubts which remain over their eventual participation.

Two players will drop out before the team head to Malabo in Equatorial Guinea, where they are due to play Ivory Coast, Sudan and Angola.

A number of previously important players have been ditched from the squad, including Wilfried Sanou and Madi Panandetiguiri, who has been a key player on the right hand side for the national team for many years.

Coach Duarte has a policy of not using players who are not getting regular games for their clubs.

Despite that he has included young Bertrand Traore, who is on the books of Chelsea's youth academy - although whether he makes the final cut remains to be seen.

Goalkeepers: Daouda Diakite (KV Turnhout, Belgium), Germain Sanou (St Etienne, France), Adama Sawadogo (Missile FC, Gabon)

Defenders: Ibrahim Gnanou (Alania Vladikavkaz, Russia), Robert Sankara (Asec Mimosas, Ivory Coast), Bakari Kone (Lyon, France), Payul Koulibaly (Charleroi, Belgium), Stephane Agbre (Athletico, Portugal), Mamadou Tall (Persepolis, Iran), Issa Gouo (ASFA, Burkina Faso)

Midfielders: Charles Kabore (Marseille, France), Mahamadou Kere (Konyaspor, Turkey), Mohamed Koffi (Petrojet, Egypt), Djakaridja Kone (Dinamo Bucharest, Romania), Wilfried Balima and Florent Rouamba (both Sheriff Tiraspol, Moldova), Alain Traore (Auxerre, France), Jonathan Pitroipa (Rennes, France) Bertrand Traore (Chelsea, England), Traore Razak (Lechia Gdansk, Poland)

Strikers: Moumouni Dagano (Al Khor, Qatar), Aristide Bance (Samsunsport, Turkey), Yahia Kebe (Al Kharitiyath, Qatar), Narcisse Yameogo (Desportiva Camacha, Portugal), Issiaka Ouedraogo (FC Trenkwalder Admira, Austria)