Premier League and Football League: Ups and downs

Chelsea celebrate winning the Champions League

BBC Sport outlines the promotion and relegation issues - and European qualifiers - in England and Scotland.


Champions Manchester City, runners-up Manchester United, third-placed Arsenal and defending champions Chelsea will all enter next season's Champions League at the group stage.

The three Europa League entrants will be fourth-placed Tottenham Hotspur (at the group stage), fifth-placed Newcastle United (in the play-off round) and Carling Cup winners Liverpool (in the third qualifying round).

There is no extra Europa League place for England from Uefa's Respect Fair Play league this season after the three places went to Norway, Finland and the Netherlands.external-link

Bolton Wanderers, Blackburn Rovers and Wolverhampton Wanderers are relegated to the Championship.


Champions Reading, runners-up Southampton and play-off winners West Ham United are promoted to the Premier League.

Portsmouth, Coventry City and Doncaster Rovers are relegated to League One.


Champions Charlton Athletic, runners-up Sheffield Wednesday and play-off winners Huddersfield Town are promoted to the Championship.

Wycombe Wanderers, Chesterfield, Exeter City and Rochdale are relegated to League Two.


Champions Swindon Town are promoted to League One with Shrewsbury Town,Crawley Town and play-off winners Crewe Alexandra.

Hereford United and Macclesfield Town are relegated to the Blue Square Bet Premier.


Fleetwood celebrate a goal
Fleetwood Town will play in League Two next season

Champions Fleetwood Town and play-off winners York City are promoted to League Two.

Hayes & Yeading United, Darlington,Bath City and Kettering Town are relegated, although Kettering must drop at least two divisions because of their financial problems while Darlington have been moved down four divisions because of theirs.

They will be replaced by Blue Square Bet North champions Hyde and play-off winners Nuneaton Town, and Blue Square Bet South winners Woking and play-off winners Dartford.


Champions Celtic will enter the Champions League along with third-placed Motherwell, because runners-up Rangers are unable to compete in Europe after they went into administration and were unable to meet a Uefa deadline of 31 March to submit accounts.

Celtic and Motherwell will both join the Champions League at the third qualifying round stage.

Normally, the teams finishing third and fourth would qualify for the Europa League along with the Scottish Cup winners - but Motherwell's elevation means the teams finishing fourth and fifth qualify.

Scottish Cup winners Hearts enter the Europa League in the play-off round, fourth-placed Dundee United in the third qualifying round and sixth-placed St Johnstone (who take the league place vacated by fifth-placed Hearts) in the second qualifying round.

There is no extra Europa League place for Scotland from Uefa's Respect Fair Play league this season after the three places went to Norway, Finland and the Netherlands.external-link

Bottom club Dunfermline will be relegated to Division One,


Champions Ross County are promoted to the SPL.

Bottom club Queen of the South are relegated to Division Two, as are ninth-placed Ayr United who lost in the play-off semi-finals.


Champions Cowdenbeath and play-off winners Dumbarton are promoted to Division One.

Bottom club Stirling Albion are relegated to Division Three.


Champions Alloa Athletic are promoted to Division Two.

There is no relegation from this division, although East Stirling finished as the lowest-placed team in Scottish senior football this season.