Celtic defender Charlie Mulgrew named player of the year

Celtic defender Charlie Mulgrew and team-mate James Forrest

Celtic's Charlie Mulgrew completed an awards double after adding the PFA Scotland player of the year award to his April player of the month prize.

His team-mate James Forrest won the young player of the year award.

Falkirk's Farid El Alagui, John Robertson of Cowdenbeath and Alloa's Steven May won the First, Second and Third Division awards respectively.

Ross County's Derek Adams was named manager of the year for winning the First Division title by a huge margin.

His team lost only once in 36 matches and they finished the season 24 points ahead of Dundee in second place.

Mulgrew, whose April Clydesdale Bank Premier League award came after scoring three goals last month, was pivotal in Celtic's league-winning triumph and the former Aberdeen player also won his first Scotland cap this term.

Rangers captain Steven Davis, United's top scorer Jon Daly and Kilmarnock's Dean Shiels were also player of the year nominees.

Celtic's James Forrest beat Dundee United's Gary Mackay-Steven, his Tannadice team-mate Johnny Russell and St Mirren's Kenny McLean to the young player prize.

The Moroccan El Alagui, 26, fended off competition from Ross County's Michael Gardyne and Grant Munro, plus team-mate goalkeeper Michael McGovern to win the First Division award.

For the Second Divison prize, Robertson's fellow nominees were Airdrie United's Ryan Donnelly, Steven Doris of Arbroath and Ryan Wallace of East Fife.

And the Third Division shortlist comprised two other members of Alloa Athletic's title-winning squad - Kevin Cawley and Ryan McCord - along with Queen's Park's Jamie Longworth.

Top Stories