Shrewsbury Town let four players leave

Graham Turner

Shrewsbury Town boss Graham Turner has released four players from his promotion-winning squad as he starts to re-shape his squad for League One.

Midfielders Lionel Ainsworth, Sean McAllister, defender Carl Regan and goalkeeper Ben Smith have not been given new contracts.

New deals have been offered to skipper Ian Sharps, Shane Cansdell-Sherriff, Nicky Wroe and Chris Neal.

And Turner is hoping that top scorer James Collins will accept a new deal.

"We offered James a contract some time ago," Turner told the club website.

"He's obviously under 24 and we would be entitled to some compensation for him.

"But we are hopeful he will re-sign for us for a further period."

Collins spent five years working his way up the youth ranks with Aston Villa but a loan to Burton was followed in January 2011 by a move to the Meadow on an 18-month deal.

Shrewsbury finished second in League Two behind champions Swindon Town, Collins netting 16 times - including the goal against Dagenham & Redbridge that won Shrewsbury promotion back to the third tier of English league football for the first time in 15 years.

Top Stories