Euro 2012: Russia name CSKA Moscow's Kirill Nababkin in squad

Kyrill Nababkin of CSKA Moscow

Russia coach Dick Advocaat has named uncapped CSKA Moscow defender Kirill Nababkin in his final 23-man squad for Euro 2012.

The 25-year-old was omitted from the preliminary squad but was added when Vasily Berezutsky and Roman Shishkin pulled out with injury and illness.

"We had to call up Nababkin because we were short in defence," said Advocaat.

Russia face Euro 2012 co-hosts Poland, 2004 European champions Greece and Czech Republic in Group A.

Advocaat still only has six defenders in his squad, although wingers Yuri Zhirkov and Dmitry Kombarov also have experience in defensive positions.

Andrei Arshavin
Andrei Arshavin is one of two Premier League players in the Russia squad

"In case something happens to our starting right-back Alexander Anyukov, [Nababkin] could give us some cover," said the Dutchman, who will step down as Russia boss following the tournament to take charge of PSV Eindhoven in his home country.

"I've seen him play for CSKA. He has enough experience. We had to have a balanced squad with enough defenders, midfielders and attackers."

Captain Andrei Arshavin, who has been on loan at Zenit St Petersburg from Arsenal, and former Spurs striker Roman Pavlyuchenko, who excelled at Euro 2008 where the Russians reached the semi-finals, were also included in the final roster with Fulham's Pavel Pogrebnyak.

Russia squad for Euro 2012:

Goalkeepers: Igor Akinfeyev (CSKA Moscow), Vyacheslav Malafeyev (Zenit St Petersburg), Anton Shunin (Dynamo Moscow)

Defenders: Alexander Anyukov (Zenit St Petersburg), Alexei Berezutsky (CSKA Moscow), Sergei Ignashevich (CSKA Moscow), Roman Sharonov (Rubin Kazan), Vladimir Granat (Dynamo Moscow), Kirill Nababkin (CSKA Moscow)

Midfielders: Igor Denisov (Zenit St Petersburg), Roman Shirokov (Zenit St Petersburg), Konstantin Zyryanov (Zenit St Petersburg), Yuri Zhirkov (Anzhi Makhachkala), Alan Dzagoyev (CSKA Moscow), Igor Semshov (Dynamo Moscow), Denis Glushakov (Lokomotiv Moscow), Marat Izmailov (Sporting), Dmitry Kombarov (Spartak Moscow)

Forwards: Andrei Arshavin (Arsenal), Alexander Kerzhakov (Zenit St Petersburg), Roman Pavlyuchenko (Lokomotiv Moscow), Alexander Kokorin (Dynamo Moscow), Pavel Pogrebnyak (Fulham).

Top Stories