Euro 2012: England confirm squad numbers

England's Gareth Barry
England's Gareth Barry

Injury doubts Danny Welbeck and Glen Johnson have been included in Roy Hodgson's 23-man England squad.

The pair missed England's 1-0 win over Norway on Saturday due to fitness concerns but have been passed fit.

On Monday Gareth Barry was replaced by Everton defender Phil Jagielka after a scan confirmed he had torn a muscle in his lower abdomen.

There were no further changes in Hodgson's final 23-man squad, which was confirmed on Monday.

Barry, who has played over 50 times for his country, was forced off less than 30 minutes after he was introduced as a half-time substitute against Norway in Oslo on Saturday.

"I'm very disappointed to lose Gareth," said Hodgson. "I'm sure he will still have a part to play with England after the Euros.

"Not only was he [Barry] a member of my original 23-man squad, but he has featured prominently in the England team over the last few years," Hodgson added.

"I know how much he wanted to be part of the tournament."

Hodgson's decision to call up Jagielka could see Phil Jones utilised in midfield, where he played for Manchester United at times last season.

An Achilles injury had threatened Scott Parker's involvement at the Euros, but the midfielder proved his fitness by coming through 55 minutes of England's 1-0 win against Norway at the weekend.

Goalkeeper John Ruddy had to pull out last week after breaking his finger in training last week and he was replaced by Birmingham City's Jack Butland, 19.

Andy Carroll has been given the number nine shirt - a hint that the Liverpool man could start England's opening game against France.

Although Hodgson has now named his squad officially, he can still make any injury-enforced changes before England's first game of the tournament on 11 June.

England squad numbers:

Goalkeepers: 1. Joe Hart (Manchester City), 13. Robert Green (West Ham), 23. Jack Butland (Birmingham City).

Defenders: 12. Leighton Baines (Everton), 5. Gary Cahill (Chelsea), 3. Ashley Cole (Chelsea), 2. Glen Johnson (Liverpool), 14. Phil Jones (Manchester United), 15. Joleon Lescott (Manchester City), 6. John Terry (Chelsea), 18. Phil Jagielka (Everton).

Midfielders: 19. Stewart Downing (Liverpool), 4. Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), 8. Frank Lampard (Chelsea), 16. James Milner (Manchester City), 20. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), 17. Scott Parker (Tottenham), 7. Theo Walcott (Arsenal), 11. Ashley Young (Manchester United).

Forwards: 9. Andy Carroll (Liverpool), 21. Jermain Defoe (Tottenham), 10. Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), 22. Danny Welbeck (Manchester United).