Euro 2012: Denmark's Thomas Sorensen ruled out with injury

Thomas Sorensen
Thomas Sorensen

Thomas Sorensen has been left out of Denmark's Euro 2012 squad after suffering a back injury.

Sorensen, 36, was substituted at half-time in Denmark's 3-1 defeat at the hands of Brazil on Saturday in Hamburg.

The Stoke keeper has been replaced by Leicester City keeper Kasper Schmeichel in Morten Olsen's 23-man squad.

Sorensen said on Twitterexternal-link: "Devastated to miss the Euros due to injury. When so much energy and soul has been put into something it's a tough one."

The Dane continued in a separate statement: "Right now I am very disappointed but we need to ensure the proper treatment of the spine.

"Then I will support my comrades in the national team as best I can from home during the finals."

Schmeichel, the son of Peter who played in Denmark's 1992-winning side, will now join up with the squad.

Despite his age, Sorensen will not give up hope of representing his country in future tournaments.

He added: "I have the summer to think about it but my first thought is that I am ready to fight for the position again after the summer break."

Olsen's side take on Australia in their final warm-up game on Saturday before beginning their Euro 2012 Group B campaign against the Netherlands on 9 June.

Denmark squad for Euro 2012

Goalkeepers: Stephan Andersen (Evian Thonon Gaillard), Anders Lindegaard (Manchester United), Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City).

Defenders: Lars Jacobsen (FC Kobenhavn), Daniel Wass (Evian Thonon Gaillard), Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Simon Kjær (AS Roma), Andreas Bjelland (Nordsjælland), Simon Poulsen (AZ Alkmaar), Jores Okore (Nordsjælland).

Midfielders: Christian Poulsen (Evian Thonon Gaillard), Jakob Poulsen (Midtjylland), William Kvist (FC Nürnberg), Niki Zimling (Club Brugge), Thomas Kahlenberg (Evian Thonon Gaillard), Christian Eriksen (Ajax), Michael Silberbauer (BSC Young Boys), Lasse Schone (NEC Nijmegen).

Forwards: Dennis Rommedahl (Brondby IF), Nicklas Bendtner (Arsenal), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Brondby IF), Tobias Mikkelsen (FC Nordsjælland), Nicklas Pedersen (FC Groningen).

Top Stories