Samuel Eto'o named in Cameroon squad after serving ban

Samuel Eto'o (left)

Samuel Eto'o has been recalled to the Cameroon squad after completing his eight-month international ban.

The 31-year-old striker was suspended for his part in a player strike over unpaid bonuses following a tournament in Morocco last year.

Coach Denis Lavagne named Eto'o, who has won 109 caps and scored 54 goals for Cameroon, in a 23-man squad for a 2013 African Nations Cup qualifier.

The Indomitable Lions travel to Cape Verde on 8 September for the first leg in the final round of qualifying.

The Cameroon Football Federation notified Eto'o, his lawyer and his Russian club Anhzi Makhachkala that his ban has expired earlier in the week.

However it remains to be seen whether Eto'o will also be given back the captain's armband with Lavagne insisting on having the final say on who will lead the team.

Ajax midfielder Enow Eyong is still missing from the squad with the injury that he picked up during a friendly against Guinea in France that caused him to miss the two Nations Cup and 2014 World Cup qualifiers in June.

And Valenciennes' Gaetan Bong and Edgard Salli of Monaco also miss the match against Cape Verde as they are recovering from injuries.

There is also a recall for Achille Emana, who plays in Dubai, for the first time since Cameroon were knocked out of the 2010 World Cup in South Africa after the group stages.

There are also two locally-based players in the squad, Ambroise Oyongo and Aurelien Feudjou, who both play for Coton Sport.

Aboubakar Oumarou, who plays in Serbia for Vojvodina, gets his first call-up to the national squad.

Cameroon squad:

Goalkeepers: Guy Ndy Assembe (Nancy, France), Carlos Kameni (Malaga, Spain), Loic Aurelien Feudjou (Coton Sport)

Defenders: Henri Bedimo (Montpelier, France), Aurelien Chedjou (Lille, France), Nicolas Nkoulou (Marseille, France), Allan Nyom (Grenada, Spain), Dany Nounkeu (Galatasaray, Turkey), Ambroise Oyongo (Coton Sport)

Midfielders: Alex Song (Barcelona, Spain), Georges Mandjeck (Auxerre, France), Stephane Mbia (Marseille, France), Joel Matip (Schalke 04, Germany), Landry Nguemo (Bordeaux), Willie Overtoom (Heracles, Netherlands)

Forwards: Vincent Aboubakar (Valenciennes, France), Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Mainz 05, Germany), Achille Emana (Al Ahly, Dubai), Samuel Eto'o (Anhzi Makhachkala, Russia), Benjamin Moukandjo (Nancy, France), Yannick Ndjeng (Esperance, Tunisia), Aboubakar Oumarou (Vojvodina, Serbia), Jacques Zoua (Basel, Switzerland)

Top Stories