Egypt beat Ghana on penalties to win African under-20 crown

Egypt flag
Egypt flag

Egypt beat Ghana 5-4 on penalties to win the African Under-20 Championship for the fourth time in their history.

Egypt's Hossam Ghaly hit the winning penalty after the shoot-out went to sudden death, the final finished 1-1 after ninety minutes with both goals coming from the penalty spot.

Saleh Gomaa put Egypt ahead after just four minutes of the final in Algeria.

Then three minutes later it was 1-1 after Ghana's Jeremiah Arkoful struck back with another penalty.

Both Egypt and Ghana have booked their places in the Fifa Under-20 World Cup later this year.

As champions Egypt are in Group E for the World Cup in Turkey alongside England, Chile and Iraq, following the draw on 25 March.

Nigeria secured bronze at the finals with a 2-1 win over Mali in their third-place play-off match on Friday, with both sides also qualifying for the World Cup in Turkey from 21 June to 13 July.

Following the final a Fifa conducted a draw to decide which groups Ghana, Nigeria and Mali will join at the World Cup.

Ghana will join France, USA and Spain in Group A later this year, the Flying Eagles of Nigeria are in Group B along with Cuba, Korea Republic and Portgual while Mali will compete against Mexico, Greece and Paraguay in Group D.

Groups for the Under-20 World Cup:

Group A (Istanbul, Kayseri):

France, Ghana, USA, Spain

Group B (Kayseri, Istanbul):

Cuba, Korea Republic, Nigeria, Portugal

Group C (Trabzon, Rize, Gaziantep):

Turkey, El Salvador, Colombia, Australia

Group D (Gaziantep, Trabzon):

Mexico, Greece, Paraguay, Mali

Group E (Antalya, Bursa):

Chile, Egypt, England, Iraq

Group F (Bursa, Antalya):

New Zealand, Uzbekistan, Uruguay, Croatia