Falkirk's Lyle Taylor among SFL player of the year candidates

Falkirk striker Lyle Taylor

One player from each of the top four teams in the Scottish First Division has been nominated by his fellow professionals as player of the year.

Partick Thistle's Chris Erskine is on the PFA Scotland shortlist, plus Stefan Scougall of Livingston, Falkirk's Lyle Taylor and Morton's Michael Tidser.

Queen of the South's Daniel Carmichael and Nicky Clark are among the Division Two candidates for the award.

And Rangers' David Templeton and Lee Wallace are Third Division nominees.

The votes from players in the Scottish Football League's three divisions produced a shortlist that has players represented from all the league-winning teams - Partick Thistle, Queen of the South and Rangers.

Media playback is not supported on this device

Interview - PFA chief Fraser Wishart

The winners will be announced and presented with their awards at a dinner on Sunday 5 May.

"This is the top award for players," said PFA Scotland chief executive Fraser Wishart.

"There is no greater honour in football than to be voted the best player in your country by your fellow professionals."

Last year, Falkirk's Farid El Alagui won the First Division award, Cowdenbeath's Jon Robertson lifted the Second Division title and Stevie May of Alloa Athletic was the pick of the bottom tier.

The nominees in the Scottish Football League are:

First Division

Chris Erskine (Partick Thistle)

Stefan Scougall (Livingston)

Lyle Taylor (Falkirk)

Michael Tidser (Morton)

Second Division

Daniel Carmichael (Queen of the South)

Nicky Clark (Queen of the South)

Steven Doris (Arbroath)

Andrew Jackson (Brechin City)

Third Division

David Anderson (Queen's Park)

Daniel Moore (Elgin City)

David Templeton (Rangers)

Lee Wallace (Rangers)

Top Stories