Paris St-Germain dominate Ligue 1 Player of the Year list

Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Blaise Matuidi

Paris St-Germain trio Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Thiago Silva and Blaise Matuidi have all made the shortlist for Ligue 1's Player of the Year award.

St Etienne's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is the only other contender for the French players' union's top award.

PSG boss Carlo Ancelotti is a contender for Coach of the Year, with Marco Verratti up for the Young Player prize.

The Parisiens will win the Ligue 1 title with victory over Lyon on Sunday or if Marseille lose to Toulouse.

PSG have enjoyed a strong first full season under the guidance of former Chelsea and AC Milan coach Ancelotti, building a seven-point lead over Marseille at the top of the table and

Ibrahimovic, 31, leads the Ligue 1 scoring charts with 27 goals while defender Silva, 28, and defensive midfielder Matuidi, 26, have been key to the team conceding just 21 times in 35 league matches.

Aubameyang's 19 goals - putting the 23-year-old second only to Ibrahimovic this season - have helped St Etienne stay in the race for European football.

The Player of the Year award has been won for the past two seasons by Eden Hazard,

Alongside 20-year-old PSG midfielder Verratti on the Young Player shortlist are Bastia forward Florian Thauvin, Lille defender Lucas Digne and Montpellier midfielder Remy Cabella.

Ancelotti is joined by Marseille's Elie Baup, St Etienne boss Christophe Galtier and Claude Puel, of Nice, on the Coach of the Year shortlist.

The award winners will be announced on 19 May.

Top Stories