Muratti Vase 2013: Guernsey beat Jersey 2-1 to retain trophy

Guernsey lift Muratti 2013

Guernsey won back-to-back Muratti Vase titles for the first time since 1992 after a tense 2-1 victory over Jersey.

Craig Young's goal inside two minutes got the Green and Whites off to a flying start at the Track.

Guernsey FC top scorer Ross Allen doubled the lead just before half-time as he ended a great 50-yard run with a strike that flew in off the woodwork.

Jack Boyle pulled one back for Jersey after the break, while Darryl Wilson hit the side-netting for the visitors.

It was the first time Guernsey had won the Muratti on home soil since 2001.

The hosts were seen by many as favourites to retain the Vase though, and showed their attacking intent right from the off when Young confidently tucked away the opener from close range.

Jersey struggled to keep the ball in the opening stages, but grew in confidence as the first half progressed and were enjoying their best spell up to that point when Allen's magical run and shot into the top corner doubled the Guernsey advantage.

The Reds would not let the chance to regain the Vase go without a fight and after 55 minutes Boyle latched on to a through ball and neatly slipped it passed the onrushing Chris Tardif to give his side renewed hope.

But despite the introduction from the bench of Jamie Mourant, Wilson and the attacking flair of Ben Gallichan, Jersey were unable to conjure a late equaliser as they had done on their previous visit to the Track in 2011.

"It was very hard to watch that second half," said Guernsey boss Kevin Graham.

"We weren't brilliant today, it was a tough half-an-hour there. It takes a huge amount of character to win a Muratti."

For Jersey boss Craig Culkin it was second successive Muratti defeat, but he was still relatively upbeat about the future for his side.

"We're trying to build a team for the future," he said.

"I'm pleased with the response of the players in the second half.

"We shot ourselves in the foot in the first few minutes. It just wasn't to be today, I applaud Guernsey."

Guernsey have now lifted the Vase on 44 occasions to Jersey's 51.


Guernsey: Chris Tardif, Tom Strawbridge, Alex Le Prevost, Jamie Dodd, Glyn Dyer, Angus Mackay, Kieran Mahon, Dominic Heaume, Dave Rihoy, Ross Allen, Craig Young.

Jersey: Jimmy Styles, Pierce Cummins, Luke Campbell, Jack Cannon, Jay Giles, Jamie Savory, Chris Andrews, Luke Watson, Jack Boyle, Ben Gallichan, Rupert Murray.

Top Stories