Ballon d'Or 2013: Voting breakdown, who voted for whom?

Robert Lewandowski, Gareth Bale, Luis Suarez

Cristiano Ronaldo didn't vote for Lionel Messi, and Messi didn't vote for Ronaldo.

The captain of Cameroon voted for Ivory Coast's Yaya Toure, Brazilian defender Thiago Silva was the choice of the coach of China and the Granadan media voted for Manchester United striker Robin van Persie.

The official voting statisticsexternal-link from Monday's 2013 Ballon d'Or ceremony in Zurich make fascinating reading.

Nominations were submitted by 184 coaches, 184 national captains and 173 members of the global media, but are the the voting patterns more akin to a controversial Eurovision Song Contest? You decide.

The world's best

Spain (ranked 1st in the world)

Iker Casillas (captain) - Cristiano Ronaldo, Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben.

Vicente Del Bosque (coach) - Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Ribery.

Germany (2nd)

Philipp Lahm (captain) - Ribery, Ronaldo, Lionel Messi.

Argentina (3rd)

Messi (captain) - Iniesta, Xavi, Neymar.

Alejandro Sabella (coach) - Messi, Ribery, Ronaldo.

Colombia (4th)

Mario Yepes (captain) - Radamel Falcao, Ribery, Messi.

Jose Pekerman (coach) - Falcao, Messi, Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

Portugal (5th)

Ronaldo (captain) - Falcao, Gareth Bale, Mesut Ozil.

Paulo Bento (coach) - Ronaldo, Falcao, Robben.

Uruguay (6th)

Diego Lugano (captain) - Luis Suarez, Edinson Cavani, Messi.

Oscar Tabarez (coach) - Ribery, Messi, Ronaldo.

Italy (7th)

Gianluigi Buffon (captain) - Andrea Pirlo, Ronaldo, Messi.

Cesare Claudio Prandelli - Pirlo, Lahm, Robert Lewandowski.

Switzerland (8th)

Gokhan Inler (captain) - Ronaldo, Messi, Ribery.

Paris St-Germain forward Edinson Cavani
Paris St-Germain forward Edinson Cavani was voted the best player in the world by Lebanon's coach

Netherlands (9th)

Robin Van Persie (captain) - Robben, Ibrahimovic, Ronaldo.

Louis Van Gaal (coach)- Ribery, Thomas Muller, Robben.

Brazil (10th)

Thiago Silva (captain) - Messi, Ibrahimovic, Ronaldo.

Luiz Felipe Scolari (coach) - Ronaldo, Messi, Ibrahimovic.

Belgium (11th)

Vincent Kompany (captain) - Ribery, Yaya Toure, Eden Hazard.

Marc Wilmots (coach) - Ibrahimovic, Lewandowski, Hazard.

Greece (12th)

Georgios Karagounis (captain) - Ronaldo, Ribery, Toure.

Fernando Santos (coach) - Ronaldo, Ribery Messi.

England (13th)

Steven Gerrard (captain) - Ronaldo, Messi, Suarez.

Roy Hodgson (coach) - Ronaldo, Ibrahimovic, Robin van Persie.

United States (14th)

Clint Dempsey (captain) - Ronaldo, Messi, Ibrahimovic.

Jurgen Klinsmann (coach) - Ribery, Bale, Falcao.

Chile (15th)

Claudio Bravo (captain) - Messi, Ronaldo, Van Persie.

Jorge Sampaoli (coach) - Ronaldo, Messi, Robben.

Bastian Schweinsteiger
Bastian Schweinsteiger of Bayern Munich received 11 votes including from Libya, Guatemala and Philippines

Best of the rest


Anthony Hudson (coach) - Bastian Schweinsteiger, Pirlo, Ozil.

Congo DR (87th)

Youssouf Mulumbu (captain) - Andres Iniesta, Neymar, Messi.

Eritrea (195th)

Michael Seium (media) - Neymar, Toure, Ibrahimovic.

Ethiopia (93rd)

Degu Debebe (captain) - Xavi, Pirlo, Thomas Muller.

Georgia (100th)

Jaba Kankava (captain) - Iniesta, Pirlo, Cavani.

Guam (171st)

Gary White (coach) - Messi, Van Persie, Bale.

Jamaica (82nd)

Winfried Schafer (coach) - Lewandowski, Ribery, Xavi.

Andres Iniesta
India, Nicaragua, Saudi Arabia and Burkina Faso all voted Barcelona's Andres Iniesta as the best player in the world

Kuwait (105th)

Bader Al-Mutawaa (captain) - Messi, Ozil, Xavi.

Malta (132nd)

Roderick Briffa (captain) - Iniesta, Ibrahimovic, Lahm.

New Zealand (91st)

Winston Reid (captain) - Gareth Bale, Neymar, Messi.

Norway (54th)

Brede Hangeland (captain) - Schweinsteiger, Ibrahimovic, Ronaldo.

Slovakia (60th)

Martin Skrtel (captain) - Suarez, Ronaldo, Messi.

Turks and Caicos Islands (207th)

James Rene (captain) - Van Persie, Messi, Suarez.

Wales (44th)

Ashley Williams (captain) - Bale, Xavi, Ronaldo.

Chris Coleman (coach) - Bale, Messi, Ronaldo.