Celtic's Kris Commons named Premiership player of year

Kris Commons and Gary McAllister

Celtic forward Kris Commons has won PFA Scotland's Premiership player of the year award.

Commons has enjoyed a prolific season in front of goal, netting 27 times in all competitions.

And 23 of those goals have come in the league, with Celtic securing the top flight title in March.

The 30-year-old, who joined Celtic from Derby County in 2011, received his award from former Scotland captain Gary McAllister.

Commons' team-mates Fraser Forster and Virgil van Dijk, as well as Kilmarnock's Kris Boyd, had also been nominated for the prize.

Celtic are due to trigger a one-year contract extension for the influential playmaker, while Commons has indicated that he would welcome a new long-term deal.

Capped 12 times for Scotland, he decided to call time on his international career at the end of last season.

PFA Scotland awards

Premiership player of the year - Kris Commons (Celtic)

Championship player of the year - Kane Hemmings (Cowdenbeath)

League One player of the year - Lee Wallace (Rangers)

League Two player of the year - Rory McAllister (Peterhead)

Young player of the year - Andrew Robertson (Dundee United)

Manager of the year - Derek McInnes (Aberdeen)

Goal of the season - Jonny Hayes (for Aberdeen against Celtic, February 2014)

Special merit award - Frank McKeown (Stranraer)