World Cup 2014: Miroslav Klose confirmed in Germany squad

Miroslav Klose

Record-chasing Miroslav Klose will go to his fourth World Cup after being named in Germany's final 23-man squad.

The 35-year-old striker needs two more goals to beat the record total of 15 held by Brazilian Ronaldo.

Hoffenheim forward Kevin Volland was cut from the provisional squad, meaning Arsenal's Lukas Podolski is their only other option as a striker.

Klose scored five times in the 2002 and 2006 World Cup finals and four in the 2010 tournament in South Africa.

The Lazio striker shares second place in the list of all-time World Cup finals scorers with compatriot Gerd Muller.

The pair are also joint top scorers for Germany with 68 goals each.

Klose has been restricted to 22 appearances for Lazio this season but has scored seven times in Serie A and coach Joachim Low expects him to make an impact in Brazil.

Low has named four players from the Premier League in his squad, including the Arsenal trio of defender Per Mertesacker, midfielder Mesut Ozil and forward Podolski. Chelsea midfielder Andre Schurrle completes the English-based quartet.

Real Madrid midfielder Sami Khedira is also included after returning in May following knee surgery last November.

Sampdoria defender Shkodran Mustafi was dropped from the provisional 30-man squad, along with Volland and Borussia Dortmund left-back Marcel Schmelzer.

Low had already cut Schalke midfielders Max Meyer and Leon Goretzka, Augsburg winger Andre Hahn and Hamburg defender Marcell Jansen, with Borussia Monchengladbach midfielder Christoph Kramer being called up to replace Hahn.

Bayer Leverkusen midfielder Lars Bender pulled out of the squad with a thigh injury.

Three-time winners Germany, who were last world champions as West Germany in 1990, are in Group G along with Portugal, Ghana and the United States.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Roman Weidenfeller (Borussia Dortmund), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Erik Durm (Borussia Dortmund), Kevin Grosskreutz (Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Howedes (Schalke), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal).

Midfielders: Julian Draxler (Schalke), Matthias Ginter (Freiburg), Mario Gotze (Bayern Munich), Christoph Kramer (Borussia Monchengladbach), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Bayern Munich), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Andre Schurrle (Chelsea), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich).

Forwards: Miroslav Klose (Lazio), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal).

Top Stories