World Cup 2014: Diego Costa and Fernando Torres in Spain squad

Diego Costa
Diego Costa

Strikers Diego Costa and Fernando Torres have been named in holders Spain's provisional 30-man squad for the World Cup in Brazil.

Atletico Madrid's Costa, 25, was born and raised in Brazil and made two friendly appearances for them last year before become a naturalised Spaniard.

Torres is also included despite making only 16 Premier League starts and scoring five goals for Chelsea.

Spain beat Netherlands to win 2010 World Cup

The world champions also won the European Championship in 2008 and 2012.

They begin their defence with a Group B match against the Netherlands on 13 June, before facing Chile and Australia.

There are eight Premier League players in Del Bosque's squad.

Torres is joined by Chelsea team-mate Cesar Azpilicueta, while Manchester City's attacking trio David Silva, Alvaro Negredo and Jesus Navas are selected.

Arsenal's Santi Cazorla is in the group along with Manchester United's Juan Mata and David De Gea.

However, there is no place for Tottenham striker Roberto Soldado and Real Madrid playmaker Isco.

Barcelona goalkeeper Victor Valdes is missing the World Cup because of a serious knee injury and uncapped De Gea has been preferred to Real Madrid's first-choice goalkeeper Diego Lopez.

Bayern Munich midfielder Thiago Alcantara was named in the original 30 but will miss the tournament with a knee injury.

Eleven squad members are from Barcelona and Real Madrid.

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Napoli), David De Gea (Manchester United).

Defenders: Dani Carvajal, Sergio Ramos (both Real Madrid), Gerard Pique, Jordi Alba (both Barcelona), Cesar Azplicueta (Chelsea), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Alberto Moreno (Sevilla).

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets, Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta, Cesc Fabregas (all Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao), David Silva (Manchester City), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Juan Mata (Manchester United), Jesus Navas (Manchester City).

Forwards: Diego Costa, David Villa (both Atletico Madrid), Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Fernando Llorente (Juventus), Fernando Torres (Chelsea).

Top Stories