Adnan Januzaj included in Belgium's World Cup squad

Adnan Januzaj

Manchester United's uncapped winger Adnan Januzaj has been named in Belgium's squad for the World Cup.

The 19-year-old, born in the Belgian capital Brussels to Kosovan-Albanian parents, could have played for Kosovo, Albania, Turkey, Serbia or, potentially in the future, England but opted for Belgium in April.

He is one of 12 Premier League players in Marc Wilmots's 23-man squad.

Belgium start their campaign against Group B opponents Algeria on 17 June.

They also face Russia on 22 June and South Korea on 26 June.

Januzaj, who arrived at Old Trafford in 2011, was on the bench for Sir Alex Ferguson's final match in charge of Manchester United - a 5-5 draw at West Brom.

After being given his debut by David Moyes, he made 27 Premier League appearances for United this season.

Chelsea provide Eden Hazard as well as Romelu Lukaku, who spent this season on loan at Everton, and Thibaut Courtois, who is still at Atletico Madrid on loan. Hazard's brother, Thorgan, who is on loan at Zulte Waragem from the Blues, was on the standby list of six players.

Januzaj is joined by Manchester United team-mate Marouane Fellaini, Liverpool goalkeeper Simon Mignolet and Manchester City captain Vincent Kompany.

Tottenham trio Jan Vertonghen, Mousa Demebele and Nacer Chadli also feature, along with Arsenal's Thomas Vermaelen and Everton's Kevin Mirallas.

Aston Villa striker Christian Benteke misses the tournament after rupturing his Achilles tendon in April.

Zulte Waregem's Sammy Bossut, who started as fifth choice keeper, is in the squad.

Hoffenheim's Koen Casteels was a doubt with a broken bone in his leg, so he and Anderlecht's Silvio Proto were named in a 24-man squad initially.

Proto then suffered an injury himself, and Casteels was not fit enough to go to Brazil.

The players on standby had been Sebastien Pocognoli (Hannover), Radia Nainggolan (Roma), Thorgan Hazard, Guillaume Gillet (Anderlecht), Michy Batshuayi and Jelle Van Damme (both Standard Liege).

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Atletico Madrid, on loan from Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Sammy Bossut (Zulte Waregem).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Atletico Madrid), Laurent Ciman (Standard Liege), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit St Petersburg), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Daniel Van Buyten (Bayern Munich), Anthony Vanden Borre (Anderlecht), Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham).

Midfielders: Nacer Chadli, Mousa Dembele (both Tottenham), Steven Defour (Porto), Kevin De Bruyne (Wolfsburg), Marouane Fellaini, Adnan Januzaj (both Manchester United), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Kevin Mirallas (Everton), Divock Origi (Lille), Axel Witsel (Zenit St Petersburg).

Forwards: Romelu Lukaku (Everton, on loan from Chelsea), Dries Mertens (Napoli).