World Cup 2014: Honduras coach confused by goalline judgement

Goal-line technology ruled that France striker Karim Benzema's effort against Honduras had crossed the line

Honduras coach Luis Suarez said he was left confused by the first use of goalline technology at the World Cup as his side suffered a 3-0 loss to France.

The moment came in the 48th minute when the stadium screen showed 'No goal' when reviewing Karim Benzema's initial shot that hit the post.

It then flashed 'Goal', ruling the ball was subsequently nudged in by keeper Noel Valladares, as France went 2-0 up.

Suarez said: "The machine first said no [goal]. I do not know what to think."

"If the technology sends a clear message, then I don't understand how the system can say it's a goal first and then: 'No goal.' What is the truth?'' added Suarez, who exchanged words with opposite number Didier Deschamps on the touchline, while the Honduras fans voiced their disapproval.

The France coach was also concerned about the confusion, but was supportive of the use of the GoalControl tool at the World Cup.

"I think it is a good solution and the goal then counts," he said.

"The referee gets the signal - we were just worried that on the screen they showed an image that didn't correspond to the goal.

"It was only after the goalkeeper pushes the ball into the goal it is a goal. The image shown must be the one that justifies the decision of the referee."

France v Uruguay
The confusion in the stadium left Honduras players remonstrating with referee Sandro Ricci

Former Scotland international Pat Nevin, commentating for BBC Radio 5 live, was initially unsure the correct decision had been made.

"It was a big, big shame that it left confusion in the stadium," he said.

"People pay good money to come to the stadium and watch the game, and it needed to be clearer."

BBC Sport pundits welcome goalline technology

"It's definitely gone over the line, but we were here waiting for the technology," said BBC television co-commentator and ex-England international Martin Keown. "By the naked eye it didn't look like it had crossed the line at first."

BBC Sport pundit Robbie Savage added: "I don't think there is any confusion that it works.

"When the ball hits the post they have to - because the ball is on the line - say that it is a no goal.

"The crowd can boo but that shows it works perfectly in the first instance.

"In the second instance the ball is over the line so it is a goal, and it works. The question is whether they had to show the first [no goal]."

The introduction of goalline technology was approved by Fifa in July 2012.

Goalline technology ruled that France striker Karim Benzema's effort against Honduras had crossed the line
Goalline technology ruled France striker Benzema's effort against Honduras had crossed the line
Goalline technology ruled that France striker Karim Benzema's effort against Honduras had crossed the line
Goalline technology was approved by Fifa in July 2012

For the best of BBC Sport's in-depth content and analysis, go to our features and video page.

Top Stories