World Cup 2014: James Rodriguez wins Golden Boot

World Cup 2014: James Rodriguez's six World Cup goals

Colombia forward James Rodriguez won the Golden Boot for finishing as the top scorer at the 2014 Fifa World Cup.

The 23-year-old, who plays for Monaco, scored six goals in five matches as his side reached the quarter-finals, where they lost to hosts Brazil.

Rodriguez finished ahead of Germany forward Thomas Muller, who netted five goals as his side won the tournament.

Argentina's Lionel Messi, who won the Golden Ball for the tournament's best player, was in a tie for third.

James Rodriguez facts
Born on 12 July, 1991 in Cucuta, Colombia
Began career at Envigado, joined Argentine club Banfield in 2009 and moved to Europe with Porto the following year
Won the 2012 Portuguese Golden Ball, given to the best player in the Primeira Liga, at the age of 20 - the youngest player to achieve the feat
Had won three successive league titles with Porto by the age of 21
Moved to Monaco for £38.5m in 2013, making him the second-most expensive Colombian in history, after Radamel Falcao

His four goals were matched by Brazil striker Neymar and Netherlands forward Robin van Persie.

Rodriguez's goals helped Colombia progress further than they had before at a World Cup.

He scored against Greece, Ivory Coast and Japan as they topped Group C before netting twice, one a sublime volley, during the 2-0 last-16 win against Uruguay.

Rodriguez's final goal was a late consolation from the penalty spot as Colombia lost 2-1 to Brazil.

Germany's Manuel Neuer, 28, won the Golden Glove awarded to the best goalkeeper at the tournament, while France's 21-year-old midfielder Paul Pogba won the best young player prize.

World Cup Golden Boot winners
1930 - Guillermo Stabile (Arg) eight goals1934 - Oldrich Nejedly (Cze); five
1938 - Leonidas (Bra); seven1950 - Ademir (Bra); eight
1954 - Sandor Kocsis (Hun); 111958 - Just Fontaine (Fra); 13
1962- Florian Albert (Hun), Valentin Ivanov (USSR), Garrincha & Vava (Bra), Drazan Jerkovic (Yug), Leonel Sanchez (Chi); four1966 - Eusebio (Por); nine
1970 - Gerd Muller (Ger); 101974 - Grzegorz Lato (Pol); seven
1978 - Mario Kempes (Arg); six1982 - Paolo Rossi (Ita); six
1986 - Gary Lineker (Eng); six1990 - Salvatore Schillaci (Ita); six
1994 - Oleg Salenko (Rus), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria); six1998 - Davor Suker (Cro); six
2002 - Ronaldo (Bra); eight2006 - Miroslav Klose (Ger); five
2010 - Thomas Muller (Ger); five2014 - James Rodriguez (Col); six
World Cup 2014: Best goals of the tournament
Thomas Muller's hat-trick against Portugal
Lionel Messi scores stunning goal in stoppage time
Neymar's opening match double for Brazil
World Cup moments: Van Persie's spectacular header

Top Stories