Wales defender James Collins pulls out of Euro 2016 qualifier

James Collins
West Ham United defender James Collins has won 44 caps for Wales

Wales manager Chris Coleman has named three uncapped players in his squad for their opening Euro 2016 qualifier away to Andorra on 9 September.

Manchester United forward Tom Lawrence and goalkeepers Kyle Letheren of Dundee and Tranmere's Owain Fon Williams are included in the 23-man squad.

West Ham United defender, James Collins, has withdrawn with a hamstring injury.

Newcastle United's Paul Dummett has been called-up to replace him.

Dummett, earned his first senior Wales cap as a substitute in Wales' 2-0 friendly defeat against the Netherlands in Amsterdam on 4 June 2014.

There are doubts as to where the match against Andorra will be played.

It could potentially be moved from the national stadium in Andorra la Vella as there are concerns over the 3G pitch.

A Fifa inspection on the new artificial surface will be carried out on Friday.

Lawrence, 20, made his United senior debut at the end of the 2013-14 season in May's victory over Hull City at Old Trafford and is expected to sign a new deal soon.

Letheren's father, Glan, was a goalkeeper for Leeds United and Swansea City in the 1970s and 80s and was the Wales reserve keeper on 12 occasions without winning a senior cap under Dai Davies.

Fulham winger George Williams and Hull defender James Chester keep their places in the squad after making their senior debuts in June's 2-0 friendly loss away to Netherlands.

Midfielder Joe Ledley is also included despite sitting out Crystal Palace's defeat to West Ham United at the weekend after being injured in the warm-up.

The knock is not thought to be serious though and Ledley is expected to be fit to take his place alongside the likes of Real Madrid's Gareth Bale and Arsenal star Aaron Ramsey.

In Group B, Wales will also face Bosnia-Hercegovina, Belgium, Israel and Cyprus.

The Euro 2016 finals are being hosted by France, who qualify automatically, and will be made up of 24 nations, an increase from 16 in the current format.

The top two teams in each of the nine groups will reach the tournament finals along with the best third-placed finisher, while the remaining eight third-placed teams go into play-offs in November 2015.

Wales squad
Wayne Hennessey Crystal Palace
Kyle LetherenDundee
Owain Fon WilliamsTranmere Rovers
James ChesterHull City
Paul DummettNewcastle United
Ben DaviesTottenham Hotspur
Chris Gunter Reading
Adam MatthewsCeltic
Samuel RickettsWolverhampton Wanderers
Neil TaylorSwansea City
Ashley WilliamsSwansea City
Joe AllenLiverpool
Emyr HuwsManchester City (loan Wigan Ath)
Andy KingLeicester City
Joe LedleyCrystal Palace
Aaron RamseyArsenal
David VaughanNottingham Forest
Gareth BaleReal Madrid
Simon ChurchCharlton Athletic
Tom LawrenceManchester United
Hal Robson-KanuReading
George WilliamsFulham
Jonathan WilliamsCrystal Palace

Top Stories