Cristiano Ronaldo wins Uefa's Best Player in Europe Award

Manuel Neuer, Cristiano Ronaldo and Arjen Robben
Cristiano Ronaldo clenched his fists in celebration at winning the award

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo won Uefa's Best Player in Europe Awardexternal-link ahead of Bayern Munich pair Manuel Neuer and Arjen Robben.

Portugal captain Ronaldo, 29, scored a record 17 goals to help Madrid win the Champions League last season.

"I'm really happy so I must say thanks to my team-mates because without the team, individual awards would not be possible," he said.

Ronaldo beat Neuer and Robben in a vote from a panel of 54 journalists.

Past winners of Uefa's Best Player in Europe Award
2010-11Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2011-12Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
2012-13Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich)

Goalkeeper Neuer, 28, helped Germany win the World Cup, while Robben, 30, scored 21 goals for Bayern and three for the Netherlands on their way to the semi-final in Brazil.external-link

Ronaldo scored a hat-trick as Portugal beat play-off opponents Sweden to reach the tournament, but failed to shine as his nation were eliminated at the group stage.

However, his club performances were enough to convince the voting panel, who had to choose from the trio after a shortlist of 10 was cut down earlier this month.

Cristiano Ronaldo wins Uefa Best Player in Europe Award
Uefa president Michel Platini, a former European Footballer of the Year, presented Ronaldo with the award

The ex-Manchester United player scored 51 goals in as many games as Madrid became European champions for a record 10th time to complete 'La Decima'. Carlo Ancelotti's men also won the Spanish Copa del Rey but finished third in La Liga.

"Winning La Decima was amazing, something that Madrid had looked to do for many years. As Madrid players we feel as though you have to win the Champions League. It was a fantastic season - we won the Champions League, the Spanish Cup and the Uefa Super Cup," Ronaldo said.

"Our target is to win it again - the Champions League, the Cup the League - everything."

The rest of the top 10 was already decided after the first round of voting and included ex-Liverpool forward Luis Suarez.

They are: 4 Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich, Germany); 5= Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich, Germany), 5= Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina); 7 James Rodriguez (Monaco/Real Madrid, Colombia); 8 Luis Suarez (Liverpool/Barcelona, Uruguay); 9 Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid/Manchester United, Argentina); 10 Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid/Chelsea, Spain).

Top Stories