Joey O'Brien still missing for Republic of Ireland qualifiers

West Ham midfielder Joey O'Brien
Joey O'Brien missed the opening qualifier win over Georgia

West Ham defender Joey O'Brien is again absent through injury for the Republic of Ireland's upcoming Euro 2016 qualifiers with Gibraltar and Germany.

O'Brien was forced to withdraw from the party for the friendly against Oman and the opening Group D qualifier in Georgia, which the Irish won 2-1.

Manager Martin O'Neill has named a provisional 37-man squad which will be reduced ahead of the double-header.

Rotherham midfielder Paul Green returns after injury, and Shay Given is named.

Given is one of five goalkeepers included and the Aston Villa stopper will hope for an opportunity to earn his 127th senior cap, although Millwall's David Forde got the nod in Georgia.

Conor Sammon, who scored the winner for Ipswich Town against Wigan in the Championship on Monday night, is included

Sunderland skipper John O'Shea will become the latest man to reach a century of caps for the Republic if he plays in both games.

Republic of Ireland
Everton's Aiden McGeady scored both goals in the win over Georgia

O'Neill's side launched their bid for qualification with a last-gasp victory in Tbilisi as Everton midfielder Aiden McGeady capped perhaps his best display yet for his country with a late winner having earlier given them the lead.

Newcomers Gibraltar, who were trounced 7-0 at home by Poland last month, are unlikely to prove as troublesome at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin on 11 October as the Georgians on their own patch.

But the trip to Gelsenkirchen which follows three days later will arguably be the toughest of the entire campaign.

The Republic were paired with the reigning world champions Germany in the qualifiers for this summer's finals in Brazil and were thumped 6-1 at home in a result which almost cost then manager Giovanni Trapattoni his job, and 3-0 in Cologne in the return under caretaker Noel King.

Republic of Ireland provisional squad: David Forde (Millwall), Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (Birmingham), Rob Elliot (Newcastle); Richard Keogh (Derby), Marc Wilson (Stoke), Seamus Coleman (Everton), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce, Stephen Kelly (both Reading), Paul McShane (Hull), Damien Delaney (Crystal Palace), Shane Duffy (Blackburn), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa) Stephen Ward (Burnley); James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Darron Gibson (Everton), Andy Reid (Nottingham Forest), Paul Green (Rotherham), Aiden McGeady (Everton), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff), James McClean (Wigan), Robbie Brady, Stephen Quinn, David Meyler (all Hull), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich); Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton, Daryl Murphy (Ipswich), Jon Walters (Stoke) Kevin Doyle (Crystal Palace), Anthony Stokes (Celtic), Simon Cox (Reading), Conor Sammon (Ipswich).

Top Stories