Victor Moses recalled to Nigeria squad for Afcon ties

By Oluwashina OkelejiBBC Sport, Lagos
Victor Moses
Victor Moses

Victor Moses has been recalled to the Nigeria squad for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations ties against Sudan in October.

The Stoke City winger's last Super Eagles appearance was in the 2-0 loss to France at the World Cup in Brazil.

There are maiden call-ups for English Championship side Reading's Hope Akpan, Austria-based Sunday Emmanuel, Aaron Samuel and Ugonna Anyora.

Midfielders Raheem Lawal and Michael Babatunde are both recalled.

Out-of-contract Nigeria coach, Stephen Keshi, has overlooked the in-form Seattle Sounders striker Obafemi Martins and has again omitted Villarreal's Ikechukwu Uche for the double-header.

The 52-year-old Keshi, whose contract was not renewed after the World Cup in Brazil, was temporarily put in charge following the intervention of Nigeria's sports minister.

But talks with the NFF stalled because of the body's leadership struggle that prompted a league boycott and led to Fifa threatening a ban from international competition.

"I just have to keep doing my best for my country by preparing the team until we can resume talks," Keshi told BBC Sport.

"It's not a secret that there is no NFF board in place [to finalise a contract] but we must continue our work and ensure qualification for Morocco."

Significantly, the NFF has said it will not hold talks with any coaches until after the governing body appoints a new president on 30 September.

Under Keshi's supervision, Nigeria's qualifying campaign has suffered a faltering start, with a defeat by Congo and a draw with South Africa leaving them languishing in third place in Group A.

It places extra pressure on the African champions to win their match away to Sudan, which will take place on 11 October, and the return fixture four days later in Abuja.

Nigeria squad:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille, France); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be'er Sheva, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Gombe United).

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Monaco, France); Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough, England).

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Lazio, Italy); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Sone Aluko (Hull City, England); Hope Akpan (Reading, England); Raheem Lawal (Eskişehirspor, Turkey); Ugonna Anyora (FK Haugesund, Norway), Babatunde Michael (Volyn Lutsk, Ukraine).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce, Turkey); Gbolahan Salami (Warri Wolves); Osaguona Ighodaro (Enugu Rangers); Victor Moses (Stoke City, England); Aaron Samuel (Guangzhou R & F, China); Sunday Emmanuel (SV Grödig, Austria).