Glasgow City lift SWPL trophy for eighth year in a row

Glasgow City get their hands on the SWPL trophy

Glasgow City were presented with the Scottish Women's Premier League trophy for the eighth successive season after a 3-1 win over Hibernian at Airdrie.

City clinched the title with three games to play and three first-half goals from Jo Love, Fiona Brown and Denise O'Sullivan put them in the mood to celebrate.

Katey Turner scored for Hibs.

City will now turn their attentions to Wednesday's crucial Champions League home tie against Medyk Konin.

Elsewhere, Aberdeen captain Rachel Small put her side 1-0 up against Rangers, only for Kathryn Hill, Lisa Swanson and a Dons own-goal to put Rangers well ahead.

However, a late second-half rally by Aberdeen ensured a 3-3 share of the spoils as Small found the net again and Rebecca Dempster scored from a Dons corner.

Rangers move into second place ahead of Hibernian on goal difference with one game remaining.

Celtic fell to their third straight defeat as Spartans won 4-1 at home. Chloe Arthur scored for Celtic but two goals each for Katie Reilly and Louise Mason ensured Spartans' fine form continued.

Buchan won the battle between the SWPL's bottom two sides as they defeated Queen's Park 5-2 and in turn give themselves a fighting chance of survival. Hutchison Vale won a tight 2-1 contest against Forfar, meaning the Angus side are still not out of danger and could well find themselves going down with either Queen's Park or Buchan.

And Hamilton Accies defeated Inverness City 2-0 to give long-serving retiring captain Lyndsey Hogg a happy send-off.