Euro 2016 qualifier: Everton pair back in Republic squad

James McCarthy and Seamus Coleman
James McCarthy and Seamus Coleman missed Republic of Ireland's last two Euro 2016 qualifiers through injury

James McCarthy and Seamus Coleman return to the provisional Republic of Ireland squad for next month's games against Scotland and USA.

The Everton duo missed the Euro 2016 qualifiers against Gibraltar and Germany because of injury.

Norwich's Wes Hoolahan is out with an injured ankle but Glenn Whelan and Darron Gibson are both included despite being injury concerns.

Whelan has a leg fracture while Gibson jarred a knee in training this week.

The Irish face Scotland in a Euro 2016 qualifier on 14 November and a friendly with the United States four days later.

Whelan suffered the fracture in the 1-1 draw with Germany earlier this month and the Stoke City midfielder was expected to be sidelined for around six weeks.

However, he is part of the 36-man provisional squad named by Republic boss Martin O'Neill.

O'Neill said on Wednesday that Everton midfielder Gibson had sustained a knock to his knee in training this week, although the extent of any possible damage was not yet known.

Republic of Ireland's remaining Euro 2016 qualifiers
14 November: Scotland (a)29 March 2015: Poland (h)
13 June: Scotland (h)4 September: Gibraltar (a)
7 September: Georgia (h)8 October: Germany (h)
11 October: Poland (a)

Uncapped Hull City defender Brian Lenihan is again included after being drafted in as cover for Coleman before the Gibraltar and Germany matches.

This is no place for Aston Villa winger Jack Grealish, who has yet to commit his future to the Republic and is eligible to play for England.

The Republic are level on points with Group D leaders Poland after three qualifiers, with the Scots three points behind in fourth.


The Glasgow qualifier is followed by an Aviva Stadium friendly with the Americans.

"I am looking forward to assembling the squad for the last time this year in preparation for our final games of 2014," said O'Neill

"I am absolutely delighted with the courage and determination we showed in our last two qualifiers, and hope we can continue this run next month against Scotland and the USA."

Republic of Ireland provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: David Forde (Millwall), Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (Birmingham City), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United)

Defenders: Richard Keogh (Derby County), Marc Wilson (Stoke City), Seamus Coleman (Everton), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Reading), Brian Lenihan (Hull City), Stephen Kelly (Reading), Paul McShane (Hull City), Damien Delaney (Crystal Palace), Shane Duffy (Blackburn Rovers)

Midfielders: James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Darron Gibson (Everton), Paul Green (Rotherham United), Aiden McGeady (Everton), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff City), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Robbie Brady (Hull City), Stephen Quinn (Hull City), David Meyler (Hull City)

Forwards: Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town), Jon Walters (Stoke City), Kevin Doyle (Crystal Palace), Anthony Stokes (Celtic), Simon Cox (Reading), Conor Sammon (Ipswich Town)