Uefa Team of the Year: Manchester City trio on shortlist

Manchester city
Yaya Toure (left) and Pablo Zabaleta helped Manchester City win the Premier League and Capital One Cup in 2014

Three Manchester City players and two from Chelsea have been included on the shortlist for Uefa's Team of the Year.

City defenders Vincent Kompany and Pablo Zabaleta, and midfielder Yaya Toure are among the 40 men nominated.

Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois and striker Diego Costa, Manchester United midfielder Angel Di Maria and Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez are also named.

Welshman Gareth Bale, who helped Real Madrid win the Champions League title, is the only British player included.

Kompany and Zabaleta were part of the Manchester City side that won the Premier League and have also been named on a 55-man shortlist for Fifa's 2014 World XI.

Uefa Team of the Year nominations


Beto (Sevilla), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich).


David Alaba, Medhi Benatia, Jerome Boateng and Philipp Lahm (all Bayern Munich), Daniel Carvajal and Sergio Ramos (both Real Madrid), Ezequiel Garay (Zenit St Petersburg), Diego Godin and Miranda (both Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Vincent Kompany and Pablo Zabaleta (both Manchester City).


Xabi Alonso and Arjen Robben (both Bayern Munich), Arda Turan and Koke (both Atletico Madrid), Angel Di Maria (Manchester United), James Rodriguez, Toni Kroos and Luka Modric (all Real Madrid), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Yaya Toure (Manchester City).


Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal), Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema and Cristiano Ronaldo (all Real Madrid), Diego Costa (Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris St-Germain), Robert Lewandowski and Thomas Muller (both Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi and Neymar (both Barcelona), Jonatan Soriano (FC Salzburg), Carlos Tevez (Juventus).