ISL final: Atletico Kolkata beat Kerala Blasters after late winner

Kerala Blasters striker Michael Chopra (left) and Atletico Kolkata's Borja Fernandez
Former Newcastle and Blackpool striker Chopra (left) had a glorious chance saved

Former England keeper David James conceded a 94th-minute goal as Atletico Kolkata beat Kerala Blasters to win the inaugural Indian Super League.

James was beaten by a Mohammed Rafique header as Atletico, who are co-owned by ex-India cricketer Sourav Ganguly, won.

Kerala Blasters, who are also managed by James, had the clearer chances.

But ex-Leicester City striker Iain Hume had a free-kick palmed round the post by Apoula Edel, who also superbly saved a Michael Chopra point-blank strike.

Former Newcastle and Blackpool forward Chopra looked set to score from six yards for the Blasters, who are co-owned by India cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar, only for Edel to touch his well-struck shot around the post.

Atletico, whose marquee player was former Liverpool forward Luis Garcia, were resilient in defence and Arnal Llibert had a decent chance when he beat Kerala's offside trap before sending an angled shot wide.

In front of a 36,484 crowd at the D.Y. Patil Stadium near Mumbai, India midfielder Rafique won the game in injury time when he rose to send a near-post header low into the corner past James.

The final ended a 10-week tournament which began in October with eight franchise teams and was designed to help promote football in India.

Top Stories