Nations Cup 2015: Finke sticks with core group

Volker Finke
Volker Finke

Cameroon coach Volker Finke has kept faith with the players he used in the qualifiers in his final 23-man squad for the Africa Cup of Nations.

As expected, there is no place for Alex Song who has not played for the Indomitable Lions since being sent off in the 4-0 World Cup loss to Croatia.

The combative midfielder retired last week after being overlooked in Finke's provisional 24-man squad.

Song, who is on loan at West Ham from Barcelona, flew to Yaoundé for talks about a late call-up but nothing materialised.

Finke called up Aurelien Chedjou to replace Brice Nlate Ekongolo who was injured in a car accident..

The only player axed from Finke's provisional squad is Jacques Zoua who plays for Kayseri Erciyesspor in Turkey.

Cameroon's Group D fixtures
20 Jan: v Mali in Malabo
24 Jan: v Guinea in Malabo
28 Jan: v Ivory Coast in Malabo

After losing all their matches at the World Cup in Brazil, Cameroon will be hoping to build on an unbeaten qualifying campaign at the Cup of Nations finals.

Strikers Vincent Aboubakar and Clinton N'Jie scored seven of the nine goals the Indomitable Lions netted in a qualifying campaign that included a 4-1 win over Ivory Coast.

The two will meet again in Group D at the finals.

Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting is also enjoying a good season with German side Schalke 04, with nine Bundesliga goals to his name so far.

The Indomitable Lions will play a friendly against South Africa in Gabon on 11 January.

The Indomitable Lions are due to fly to Malabo on 16 January, a day before the Africa Cup of Nations kicks off.

Cameroon squad:

Goalkeepers: Joseph Ondoua (Barcelona, Spain), Guy Ndy Assembe (Nancy, France), Pierre Sylvain Abogo (Tonnerre Yaoundé)

Defenders: Cédric Djeugoue (Coton Sport), Jérôme Guihi Ata (Valenciennes, France), Nicolas Nkoulou (Marseille, France), Ambroise Oyongo Bitolo (New York Red Bulls, USA), Franck Bagnack (Barcelona, Spain), Henri Bedimo (Lyon, France), Aurelien Chedjou (Galatasaray, Turkey)

Midfielders: Stéphane Mbia (Seville, Spain), Enoh Eyong (Standard Liège, Belgium), Raoul Cedric Loe (CA Osasuna, Spain), Edgard Salli (Academica de Coimbra. Portugal), Georges Mandjeck (Kayseri Erciyesspor, Turkey), Franck Kom (Etoile du Sahel, Tunisia), Patrick Ekeng (FC Cordoba, Spain)

Forwards: Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting (Schalke 04, Germany), Benjamin Moukandjo (Reims, France), Vincent Aboubakar (Porto, Portugal), Léonard Kwekeu (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Clinton N'Jie (Lyon, France), Franck Etoundi (Zurich, Switzerland)

Top Stories