Nations Cup 2015: Cape Verde name final squad

Cape Verde striker Heldon

Cape Verde have named their final 23-man squad for January's Africa Cup of Nations finals in Equatorial Guinea.

Portuguese coach Rui Aguas' squad is made up of entirely overseas-based players, although two ply their trade in Angola.

With Goalkeeper Vozinha and midfielder Calú on the books of Progresso Sambizanga.

The 2015 squad includes 12 players who were part of the team that reached the quarter-finals in South Africa in 2012.

Cape Verde's Group B fixtures
18 Jan: v Tunisia in Ebebiyin
22 Jan: v DR Congo in Ebebiyin
26 Jan: v Zambia in Ebebiyin

Striker Heldon (pictured), who scored the injury-time winner against Angola in 2012 that saw Cape Verde qualify for the last eight, is one of those who has another chance to shine at the Nations Cup.

The Blue Sharks will be preparing in Portugal ahead of the finals that kick-off on 17 January.

They have lined up friendlies against Nations Cup hosts Equatorial Guinea, who are also preparing in Lisbon, as well as Portuguese side Estoril although no dates for games have been fixed yet.

They will then take on Claude LeRoy's Congo-Brazzaville, who are also heading to the Nations Cup finals, in the Senegalese capital Dakar on 10 January.

Cape Verde are due to arrive in Equatorial Guinea a day later before kicking off their Group B campaign against Tunisia on 18 January.

Cape Verde squad:

Goalkeepers: Josimar Dias (Vozinha) (Progresso Sambizanga, Angola), Kevin Sousa (Ken) (Nacional, Portugal), Ivan Cruz (Ivan) (Gil Vicente, Portugal)

Defenders: Carlos Daniel Garca (Kay) (Universidade Craiova, Romania), Carlos Tavares (Carlitos) (Apoel Limassol, Cyprus), Nivaldo Santos (Nivaldo) (Teplice, Czech Republic), Fernando Varela (Varela) (Steaua Bucharest, Romania), Ianique Tavares (Stopira) (Videoton, Hungary), Admilson Barros (Gegé) (Marítimo, Portugal), Jeffrey Fortes (Jeffrey) (Dordrecht, Netherlands)

Midfielders: Elvis Macedo (Babanco) (Estoril-Praia, Portugal), Sérgio Semedo (Samedo) (Olhanense, Portugal), Luis Carlos Soares (Platini) (CSKA Sófia, Bulgaria),Nuno Monteiro Rocah (Nuno Rocha) (Universidade Craiova, Romania), Tony Varela (Toni) (Excelsior, Netherlands), Carlos Lima (Calú) (Progresso Sambizanga, Angola)

Forwards: Jorge Djaniny (Djaniny) (Santos Laguna, México), Júlio Tavares (J Tavares) (Dijon, Françe), Ryan Mendes (Mendes) (Lille, Françe), Héldon Ramos (Heldon)(Sporting, Portugal), Garry Mendes (Garry) (Elche, Spain), Odair Fortes (Odair) (Reims, Françe), Jailton Alves Miranda (Kuca) (Estoril-Praia, Portugal)