Toure, Aubameyang and Enyeama on Caf award shortlist

Yaya Toure
Yaya Toure

Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure is joined by Gabon forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama on the Confederation of African Football's (Caf) Player of the Year shortlist.

Manchester City's Toure has collected the Caf award for the last three years, matching the feat achieved by Cameroon's Samuel Eto'o and Ghana's Abedi Pele.

Victory again would put him level with Eto'o on four titles overall.

But if Toure was to win, he would become the first player to reach that milestone in consecutive seasons.

The three men made it down to the final three, after Caf had narrowed down their initial shortlist to five names at the start of December.

Toure, Aubameyeng and Enyeama were also on the five-man shortlist for this year's BBC African Footballer of The Year award, where fans voted for Algeria's FC Porto star Yacine Brahimi as the eventual winner.

The Caf award is voted for by the head coaches of the 56 national associations within the African governing body.

The winner will be announced in Lagos on 8 January 2015.

Caf African Player of the Year nominees:

  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - Borussia Dortmund (Germany) and Gabon
  • Vincent Enyeama - Lille (France) and Nigeria
  • Yaya Toure - Manchester City (England) and Ivory Coast

African Player of the Year - Based in Africa - nominees:

  • El-Hedi Belameiri - Entente Setif and Algeria
  • Akram Djahnit - Entente Setif and Algeria
  • Firmin Mubele - AS Vita Club and DR Congo