Jose Mourinho - top at Christmas & in May

Jose Mourinho
Jose Mourinho celebrates his title successes in Spain, England and Italy

Jose Mourinho has been top at Christmas seven times in his 12 full seasons as a manager - winning the league each time.

And yet he has never won any league when his side was not leading on 25 December.

With Chelsea top again at Christmas this season, we look at his festive record in numbers.

Jose Mourinho's Christmas table toppers
YearTeamPWDLPtsPosFinal posTitle margin
11-12Real Madrid16131240119
Jose Mourinho talks with Mesut Ozil
Mourinho and Mesut Ozil were Spanish title winners with Real Madrid in 2012
And when not top at Christmas
YearTeamPWDLPtsPosFinal pos
01-02U.D. Leiria167632757*
10-11Real Madrid1613214122
12-13Real Madrid1710343332
* Mourinho left UD Leiria in January 2002
Blackburn manager Kenny Dalglish celebrates winning the 1995 Premier League title with Ray Harford and Tony Parkes
Blackburn Rovers were Christmas leaders en route to winning their only Premier League title in 1995
Christmas leaders to champions - the Premier League managers
Alex FergusonManchester United1993-94, 2000-01, 2006-7, 2010-11, 2012-13
Jose MourinhoChelsea2004-5, 2005-6
Carlo AncelottiChelsea2009-10
Kenny DalglishBlackburn Rovers1994-95
Roberto ManciniManchester City2011-12

Premier League at Christmas stats

  • Aston Villa hold the record for the lowest finish in the league after being top at Christmas - ending the 1998-99 season in sixth.
  • Liverpool have been top at Christmas the most times in the Premier League era without going on to win it (three times). The other sides to have suffered the same fate are Manchester United, Newcastle and Arsenal (twice), along with Aston Villa, Leeds and Norwich (once).
  • Manchester United have the highest points total by Christmas, with 52 points in 1993-4, but 21 games had been played by 25 December that year.
  • In terms of points per game, Chelsea come out top in 2005-6 with 46 points from 17 games - 2.7 compared to the 2.48 achieved by Manchester United in 1993-94.
Christmas leaders to champions - the Premier League era
SeasonChristmas leadersFinal positionChampions
1992-93Norwich City3rdManchester United
1993-94Manchester United1stManchester United
1994-95Blackburn Rovers1stBlackburn Rovers
1995-96Newcastle United2ndManchester United
1996-97Liverpool4thManchester United
1997-98Manchester United2ndArsenal
1998-99Aston Villa6thManchester United
1999-2000Leeds United3rdManchester United
2000-01Manchester United1stManchester United
2001-02Newcastle United4thArsenal
2002-03Arsenal2ndManchester United
2003-04Manchester United3rdArsenal
2005-06Chelsea 1stChelsea
2006-07Manchester United1stManchester United
2007-08Arsenal3rdManchester United
2008-09Liverpool2ndManchester United
2010-11Manchester United1stManchester United
2011-12Manchester City1stManchester City
2012-13Manchester United1stManchester United
2013-14Liverpool2ndManchester City