Trinity Shield: St Brelade beat Grouville in final

St Brelade
St Brelade won the title on home turf at Les Quennevais as Springfield stadium is closed while a new 3G pitch is being laid

St Brelade beat reigning champions Grouville 4-2 to lift the Trinity Shield for the 17th time.

Steve Coleman gave Grouville a fourth-minute lead before Scott McClurg levelled 13 minutes later.

James Carolan put St Brelade ahead mid-way through the second half, only for Charlie Payn to level the scores within three minutes of going behind.

Harrison Moon restored St Brelade's lead with 14 minutes left before Fraser Barlow's late goal sealed the win.

St Brelade last won the title in 2009, while Grouville's was their first since 1929.

Recent Trinity Shield winners
2015: St Brelade2014: Grouville
2013: St Lawrence2012: St Ouen
2011: St Lawrence2010: St Saviour

"Fair play to Grouville, they gave us a really good game but at the end I think we were slightly fitter and managed to get those last two goals," said St Brelade's 24-year-old coach Ben Naylor.

"In this squad, there's 13 of them who are 21 or younger, so I think it bodes well not only for the parish, but for Jersey football as a whole.

"There are players who weren't here today, who could be involved going forward, and hopefully these guys can be role models for the next generation coming through as well.

"Harrison Moon's only 16 years of age, he comes on and scores the third goal in the Trinity Shield final, I think I'm in awe of that, it's fantastic," he told BBC Radio Jersey.

The Trinity Shield is the oldest football competition in the Channel Islands, having been first held in 1895.

Jersey-born players play for either the parish they were born in or the one in which they currently live.

Top Stories