Under-20 World Cup: African champions drawn in group with Brazil

Michael Essien
Michael Essien played in the Under-20 World Cup in 2001

The winners of the upcoming African Under-20 Championships will face Brazil in the group stages of this year's Under-20 World Cup in New Zealand.

Tuesday's draw in Auckland determined the groups for the global event.

Africa's four teams at the tournament will be decided at the continent's finals in Senegal from 8 to 22 March.

The Under-20 World Cup has helped create new stars, including Ghana's Michael Essien (pictured), Argentine Lionel Messi and Brazilian Ronaldinho.

Mali's Seydou Keita and South Africa's Benni McCarthy are two other big-name Africans to have played at the tournament.

As well as Brazil, the African champions will face North Korea and Hungary in Group E of the tournament, which will be played from 30 May to 20 June.

Group draw for the 2015 Under-20 World Cup:

Group A: New Zealand, Ukraine, United States, Myanmar.

Group B: Argentina, Panama, Africa's third-placed team, Australia.

Group C: Qatar, Colombia, Portugal, Africa's fourth-placed team

Group D: Mexico, Africa's second-placed team, Uruguay, Serbia.

Group E: African champion, Brazil, North Korea, Hungary.

Group F: Germany, Fiji, Uzbekistan, Honduras.