Euro 2016: David Wilson names Gibraltar squad to face Scotland

David Wilson and former head coach Allen Bula
David Wilson has succeeded Allen Bula with Gibraltar

David Wilson has named four British-based players in his first squad as Gibraltar caretaker head coach ahead of his side facing his native Scotland.

Wilson, who had been assistant, was named interim boss on Friday after Allen Bula's departure before the Euro 2016 qualifier on 29 March at Hampden.

Scott Wiseman is the only Football League player, with Preston North End.

But fellow defender David Artell, midfielder Jake Gosling and striker Adam Priestley also play in the UK.

The 21-year-old Gosling joined Conference Premier outfit Bristol Rovers from Exeter City last summer.

Scott Wiseman in action for Preston
Preston defender Scott Wiseman is Gibraltar's highest-profile player

Artell played for Rotherham United, Shrewbury Town, Mansfield Town, Chester City, Morecambe, Crewe Alexandra, Port Vale, Northampton Town and Wrexham before the 34-year-old joined Welsh Premier League club Bala Town last summer.

Priestley, 24, is in his second spell with Farsley in the Northern Premier League Division One North - the ninth tier of English football.

Wiseman, a former England Under-20 international, joined League One outfit Preston in January 2014 and previously played for Hull City, Boston United, Rotherham United, Darlington, Rochdale and Barnsley.

All of the remaining 19 members of the Gibraltar squad play semi-professional football in their homeland, 13 of them with champions Lincoln Red Imps.

While Wilson, who played junior football for Kilwinning Rangers, has been named interim boss, the Gibraltar FA says it is searching for a permanent replacement for Bula and hopes to make an announcement before their qualifier against Germany on 13 June.

Gibraltar squad

Goalkeepers: Jamie Robba (College Europa), Jordan Perez (Lions Gibraltar), Dayle Coleing (Lincoln Red Imps)

Defenders: Jack Sergeant (Manchester 62), Scott Wiseman (Preston North End), Joseph Chipolina (Lincoln Red Imps), David Artell (Bala Town), Jean Carlos Garcia (Lincoln Red Imps), Roy Chipolina (Lincoln Red Imps), Ryan Casciaro (Lincoln Red Imps), Ethan Jolley (Lincoln Red Imps)

Midfielders: Jamie Bosio (College Europa), Jake Gosling (Bristol Rovers), Aaron Payas (Manchester 62), Liam Walker (Lincoln Red Imps), Brian Perez (Lincoln Red Imps), Jeremy Lopez (Manchester 62), Daniel Duarte (Lincoln Red Imps), Anthony Bardon (Lincoln Red Imps)

Forwards: Lee Casciaro (Lincoln Red Imps), Kyle Casciaro (Lincoln Red Imps), Adam Priestley (Farsley), John Paul Duarte (Lincoln Red Imps)

Top Stories