Nigeria set up Uganda friendly after Bolivia 'chicken out'

Vincent Enyeama
Vincent Enyeama will win his 100th cap for Nigeria if he features against Uganda

Nigerian football officials have said Bolivia "chickened out" of an international friendly in the African country.

The nations were due to meet on 25 March but the South American country pulled out of the fixture citing security concerns.

Nigeria will now face Uganda instead in the south-eastern city of Uyo.

The Nigeria Football Federation said: "Bolivia chickened out at the eleventh hour despite signing a contract."

In a statement on its website, the NFF official Jairo Pachon added: "We certainly will have time to deal with the Bolivia matter in a few days, but our concentration has been on getting a replacement for them.

"Their excuses do not hold any water. But we have spoken to our lawyers and will approach Fifa on the matter."

Bolivia pulled out of the fixture because "armed conflict and the tense political situation in Nigeria" - Boko Haram, the Islamist militant group active in the north east of the country, has killed thousands of people in its drive to establish an Islamic state.

Nigerian officials said everything was in place to ensure a hitch-free game.

Super Eagles goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama will win his 100th cap if he features against the Cranes.

The 32-year-old has been named in a 28-man squad, selected by Super Eagles caretaker coach Daniel Amokachi, that will also face South Africa on Sunday 29 March.

In-form duo Brown Ideye and Anthony Ujah are also in Amokachi's squad, earning recalls after being overlooked for last year's World Cup in Brazil.

Fresh call ups include Aalesund defender Akeem Latifu, Watford striker Odion Ighalo and Moses Simon from Belgian club Gent with Stoke City's Victor Moses placed on standby.

Nigeria squad:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France); Theophilus Afelokhai (Kano Pillars); Chidiebere Eze (Ifeanyi Ubah United)

Defenders: Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Nelson Ogbonnaya (Heartland FC); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England); Akeem Latifu (Aalesunds FC, Norway); Leon Balogun (Darmstadt 98, Germany)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Steven Ukoh (Biel-Bienne FC, Switzerland); Sone Aluko (Hull City, England); Hope Akpan (Reading FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva, Israel); Michael Babatunde (Volyn Lutsk, Ukraine); Joseph Nathaniel (Sharks FC); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Aaron Samuel (Guangzhou R&F, China); Brown Ideye (West Brom, England); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Anthony Ujah (FC Cologne, Germany); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Ubong Moses (Kano Pillars); Stanley Dimgba (Warri Wolves); Mfon Udoh (Enyimba FC); Standby - Victor Moses (Stoke City, England)

Top Stories