Northern Ireland: Lee Hodson replaces Paul Paton in NI squad

Lee Hodson

Lee Hodson has been called into the Northern Ireland squad for the friendly against Scotland and the Euro 2016 qualifier against Finland.

The MK Dons defender replaces Dundee United midfielder Paul Paton who has withdrawn because of a knee injury.

Paton and Daniel Lafferty were called up to replace injured duo Sammy Clingan and Shane Ferguson last week.

Michael O'Neill's side face the Scots at Hampden Park, before taking on the Finns at Windsor Park on Sunday.

Clingan and Ferguson have also been ruled out of the double-header with knee injuries.

Kilmarnock midfielder Clingan and Newcastle defender Ferguson were named in a 27-man squad for the two fixtures.

Ferguson is currently on loan at Rangers and Ibrox manager Stuart McCall was surprised by his inclusion in the original squad announced by manager Michael O'Neill.

Northern Ireland's remaining Euro 2016 Group F qualifiers
Finland (home)Sunday, 29 March 2015
Romania (home)Saturday, 13 June 2015
Faroe Islands (away)Friday, 4 September 2015
Hungary (home)Monday, 7 September 2015
Greece (home)Thursday, 8 October 2015
Finland (away)Sunday, 11 October 2015

The 23-year-old joined the Scottish club in January but has not played for the team because of his injury.

"From what I've been led to believe, we won't see him at all this season," said McCall.

Ferguson missed November's defeat by group leaders Romania because of injury and he was one of three players to return to the squad for the two games later this month.

Lafferty, who is on loan at Rotherham United, fills the void left by the absence of Ferguson.

Goalkeepers: R Carroll (Notts County), A Mannus (St Johnstone), M McGovern (Hamilton Academical).

Defenders: A Hughes (Brighton), C Baird (West Bromwich Albion), G McAuley (West Bromwich Albion), J Evans (Manchester United), C Cathcart (Watford), D Lafferty(Burnley) C McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town), L McCullough (Doncaster Rovers), P McNair (Manchester United), L Hodson (MK Dons).

Midfielders: S Davis (Southampton), C Brunt (West Bromwich Albion), C Evans (Blackburn Rovers), O Norwood (Reading), R McLaughlin (Liverpool), B Reeves (MK Dons), P McCourt (Brighton), S Dallas (Brentford).

Forwards: K Lafferty (Norwich City), N McGinn (Aberdeen), J Ward (Derby County), J Magennis (Kilmarnock), B McKay (Wigan Athletic), W Grigg (MK Dons).