Scotland: Anna Signeul names squad for Australia friendly

Anna Signeul
Swede Anna Signeul recently signed a new two-year contract to remain as head coach of Scotland's women's team

Scotland head coach Anna Signeul has selected an experienced squad for the friendly against Australia at the Falkirk Stadium on 9 April.

Among those selected are Seattle Reign duo Rachel Corsie and Kim Little, plus Celtic goalkeeper Gemma Fay.

The national team beat South Korea and the Netherlands at the 2015 Cyprus Cup earlier this month.

Scotland last played Australia, ranked 10th in the world, at the 2014 Cyprus Cup, when Scotland won 4-2.

Five of the squad - Ifeoma Dieke, Fay, Little, Joanne Love and Leanne Ross - have won more than 100 caps.

Signeul told BBC Scotland: "I think it is always good to play one of the best teams in the world. That's the philosophy we have had from the start, when I came, that if you want to be the best, you need to learn to play against the best, and Australia are one of the best teams.

"They are looking for a warm-up game before the World Cup. They are very physical, very fast so it will be a challenge for us and a little bit different. We play often against European teams; it's not so often you have opportunities to play against Australia, for example."

Signeul's team will start their Euro 2017 qualification campaign in September with the qualifying groups drawn on 15 April.

Australia will play in the Women's World Cup in Canada this summer, where they are in Group D alongside Sweden, Nigeria and the United States.

Scotland squad to play Australia: Jennifer Beattie (Manchester City), Fiona Brown (Glasgow City), Frankie Brown (Bristol Academy), Lana Clelland (FC Pink Bari), Rachel Corsie (Seattle Reign), Leanne Crichton (Notts County), Megan Cunningham (Glasgow City), Ifeoma Dieke (Vittsjo GIK), Gemma Fay (Celtic), Hayley Lauder (Glasgow City), Kim Little (Seattle Reign), Joanne Love (Glasgow City), Shannon Lynn (Vittsjo GIK), Eilish McSorley (Mallbackens IF), Emma Mitchell (Arsenal), Christie Murray (Bristol Academy), Jane Ross (Vittsjo GIK), Leanne Ross (Glasgow City), Kirsty Smith (Hibernian), Caroline Weir (Arsenal), Lisa Evans (Turbine Potsdam)