PFA awards: Kane, Hazard, De Gea, Coutinho on both shortlists

Philippe Coutinho, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane, David De Gea
Philippe Coutinho, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane and David De Gea are chasing double awards

Tottenham's Harry Kane is one of four players to make the shortlist for both the Professional Footballers' Association Player and Young Player of the Year prize.

Manchester United keeper David De Gea, Chelsea forward Eden Hazard and Liverpool attacking midfielder Philippe Coutinho could also win both awards.

Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez and Chelsea's Diego Costa complete the senior list.

Manchester City's Lucy Bronze, winner in 2014, is on the women's shortlist.

It is the first time four players have been nominated for both the Player and Young Player awards.

Hazard makes the senior shortlist for the third successive year, having previously lost out to Gareth Bale and Luis Suarez.

Bale's triumph in 2013 meant he emulated Andy Gray in 1977 and 2007 winner Cristiano Ronaldo by winning both prizes.

De Gea is aiming to become the first goalkeeper to win the award since Peter Shilton in 1977.

Liverpool's Raheem Sterling and Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois have been nominated for the Young Player prize.

Chelsea Ladies are the only Women's Super League side to have two players nominated in Eniola Aluko and South Korea international Ji So-yun. Birmingham's Karen Carney, Arsenal's Kelly Smith and Notts County's Jess Clarke are also named.

Leah Williamson, who kept her nerve in unique circumstances to score the penalty that sent England into the European Under-19 Championship, is included in a five-person shortlist for the Young Player award.

No-one from WSL champions Liverpool has been nominated.

Men's Players' Player of the Year shortlist

Diego Costa (Chelsea)

David De Gea (Manchester United)

Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)

Men's Young Player of the Year shortlist

Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea)

Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)

David De Gea (Manchester United)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)

Women's Players' Player of the Year shortlist

Eniola Aluko (Chelsea)

Lucy Bronze (Manchester City)

Jess Clarke (Notts County)

Karen Carney (Birmingham City)

Kelly Smith (Arsenal)

Ji So-yun (Chelsea)

Women's Young Player of the Year shortlist

Freda Ayisi (Birmingham City)

Hannah Blundell (Chelsea)

Aoife Mannion (Birmingham City)

Nikita Parris (Manchester City)

Amy Turner (Notts County)

Leah Williamson (Arsenal)

Top Stories