Irish Premiership: Ballymena Utd 2-1 Ballinamallard Utd

Ballymena players celebrate victory over Ballinamallard

Ballymena made it five straight league wins for the first time since 2008 with this victory over the Mallards.

United's opener was a rare moment of quality in a lacklustre first half at the Showgrounds with Neal Gawley firing in from Mark Surgenor's cross.

Ballymena's dominance was rewarded when Eamon McAllister finished after a free-kick deflected into his path.

Cathal Beacom netted four minutes from time to give the Mallards hope but the hosts held on for all three points.

Ballymena pressed from the start but chances were few in a low-key first half although Gawley made no mistake with his opportunity on 29 minutes.

United remained in control after the break and Darren Boyce fired wide at the backpost while Matthew Tipton saw his header saved by Feargal Murphy.

McAllister made it 2-0 after 83 minutes as he capitalised on the deflection from Kane's set-piece.

A deflection helped Beacom's shot go past Tim Allen as the Mallards scored what proved to be a consolation goal.

The Sky Blues have finished seventh in the standings while Ballinamallard stay in ninth spot.

Top Stories