Writers awards treble for champions Crusaders

Title-winning Crusaders dominate awards

Premiership champions Crusaders picked up the three top honours at the NI Writers' Association annual awards in Belfast on Monday night.

Paul Heatley, who scored 29 goals for the Crues last season, was named Footballer of the Year.

Seaview boss Stephen Baxter won the Manager of the Year award while winger Gavin Whyte secured the Young Player accolade.

Northern Ireland striker Kyle Lafferty won the International award.

Lafferty has netted five times in five Euro 2016 qualifiers and is spearheading the bid to make next year's finals in France.

Former Northern forward Gerry Armstrong, who scored 13 goals in 55 international appearances, was inducted into the Malcolm Brodie Hall of Fame.

Cliftonville striker Joe Gormley, with 31 league goals, won the Golden Boot Award.

Championship winners Carrick Rangers were named the Non-Senior Team of the Year while Bangor winger Jordan Forsythe collected the Championship Player gong.

Heatley is celebrating an awards double after the winger was selected as Ulster Footballer of the Year by the Castlereagh Glentoran Supporters' Club last month.

Top Stories