Vitoria Guimaraes 0-0 Benfica

Benfica celebrate winning the title
Benfica have kept 20 clean sheets in 33 league matches this season

A goalless draw at Vitoria Guimaraes was enough to give Portuguese champions Benfica consecutive Primeira Liga titles for the first time in 31 years.

Porto's 1-1 draw with Belenenses left manager Jorge Jesus's team three points clear with a superior head-to-head record with one match remaining.

News of Belenenses' 85th-minute equaliser sparked celebrations among the Benfica fans.

The match was held up for two minutes as flares were thrown on to the pitch.

Porto were on course to take the title race to the final match when Colombia forward Jackson Martinez gave them a first-half lead.

But Tiago Caeiro's late strike for Belenenses sealed Benfica's 34th championship.

Top Stories