England Under-21s: Harry Kane in European Championship squad

U21 call-up good for Kane - Southgate

Manager Gareth Southgate has confirmed the 23-man England squad for this month's European Under-21 Championship.

Tottenham defender Eric Dier, Benik Afobe of Wolves, Chelsea forward Patrick Bamford and Cauley Woodrow of Fulham all miss out after being named in the provisional squad last month.

Spurs striker Harry Kane is included for the competition in the Czech Republic from 17-30 June.

England are in a group with Italy, Portugal and Sweden.

Gareth Southgate's England side have won 13 of their last 14 matches. The squad will train at St. George's Park over the next two weeks before they face their final warm-up for the Euros against Belarus at Barnsley's Oakwell on 11 June.

England's European U-21 Championship fixtures
18 June v Portugal21 June v Sweden24 June v Italy

Kane, 21, who scored six times in eight qualifying games, earned his first senior cap in March when he scored within two minutes of coming on as a substitute against Lithuania.

However, he drops back down to under-21 level, despite the fact that Tottenham manager Mauricio Pochettino did not want him to be selected.

Southgate has previously defended his decision not to include other players that were eligible to play in the Czech Republic who have featured for Roy Hodgson's senior England side.

Everton midfielder Ross Barkley, Arsenal winger Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Liverpool forward Raheem Sterling and Manchester United defender Phil Jones were all eligible to play in the competition, but were not selected.

England have won the European Under-21 Championship on two occasions - in 1982 and 1984.

Their last appearance at the tournament in 2013 ended with the side managed by Stuart Pearce exiting at the group stage having lost all three of their matches.

Ruben Loftus-Cheek
Chelsea midfielder Ruben Loftus-Cheek is included in an England Under-21 squad for the first time

The 23-man England squad


Marcus Bettinelli (Fulham), Jonathan Bond (Watford), Jack Butland (Stoke City)


Calum Chambers (Arsenal), Luke Garbutt (Everton), Ben Gibson (Middlesbrough), Carl Jenkinson (Arsenal, on loan at West Ham United), Michael Keane (Burnley), Liam Moore (Leicester City), John Stones (Everton), Matt Targett (Southampton)


Tom Carroll (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathaniel Chalobah (Chelsea), Will Hughes (Derby County), Jake Forster-Caskey (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Alex Pritchard (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathan Redmond (Norwich City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)


Saido Berahino (West Bromwich Albion), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Ings (Burnley),