Euro 2016 qualifiers: Belgium's Marouane Fellaini out of Wales tie

Marouane Fellaini has won 63 caps for Belgium and scored 14 goals
Marouane Fellaini has won 63 caps for Belgium and scored 14 goals
Euro 2016 qualifier: Wales v Belgium
Venue: Cardiff City Stadium Date: Friday, 12 June Kick-off: 19:45 BST
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio Wales, Radio Cymru and the BBC Sport website

Belgium forward Marouane Fellaini has been ruled out of Friday's Euro 2016 qualifier against Wales in Cardiff.

Reportsexternal-link on Tuesday said the Manchester United player missed training with a groin injury and Belgium coach Marc Wilmots confirmed via Twitterexternal-link the 27-year-old would miss the match.

Wilmots posted: "He is not ready for selection and leaves the squad for further rehabilitation,"

Belgium will also be without defender Vincent Kompany, who is suspended.

Fellow centre-back Jason Denayer is also a doubt after leaving training early.

Wales have the same points - 11 from five matches - as Belgium, but they have a better goal difference and top Group B.

Fellaini scored twice in Belgium's 4-3 warm-up victory over France on Sunday.

Belgium, ranked second in the world by Fifa, have strength in depth, including Chelsea forward Eden Hazard and goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois.

Professional Footballers' Association player of the year Hazard and Courtois are among 10 Premier League players in the squad.

Belgium squad: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Jean-Francois Gillet (Catania), Toby Alderweireld (Southampton), Jason Denayer (Celtic), Olivier Deschacht (Anderlecht), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit St-Petersburg), Thomas Meunier (FC Bruges), Anthony Vanden Borre (Anderlecht), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham), Nacer Chadli (Tottenham Hotspur), Kevin De Bruyne (Wolfsburg), Moussa Dembele (Tottenham), Leander Dendoncker (Anderlecht), Radja Nainggolan (AS Roma), Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht), Axel Witsel (Zenit St-Petersburg), Christian Benteke (Aston Villa), Yannick Ferreira-Carrasco (Monaco), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Kevin Mirallas (Everton), Divock Origi (Lille)

Top Stories